Two Rooms: Celebrating the Songs of Elton John & Bernie Taupin

Two Rooms: Celebrating the Songs of Elton John & Bernie Taupin


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.


Two Rooms is a wildly uneven star-studded tribute to a wildly uneven superstar songwriting team. Though Elton John and Bernie Taupin wrote many of the best pop songs of the '70s and '80s, they have written more than their fair share of clunkers as well. Some of them were chosen for this collection. Tina Turner, for example, tackles the ludicrously juvenile "The Bitch Is Back" and somehow manages to make it even worse. Daryl Hall and John Oates don't fare any better with the embarrassingly outdated disco anthem "Philadelphia Freedom." But most of the songs on Two Rooms are drawn from Elton and Bernie's A-list and some of them really illustrate the depth of their songwriting abilities. Sinéad O'Connor finds the tortured soul of the 1989 divorce song "Sacrifice" in a way that the original recording never did. George Michael's radiant tenor lights a fire under "Tonight," another song about a disintegrating relationship. Sting gives the album's most memorable performance, bringing haunted melancholy to the seldom heard "Come Down in Time." Unfortunately, many of the artists are not that sensitive to their chosen songs. Wilson Phillips makes a chipper dentist's office ballad out of the heart-rending elegy "Daniel," while Jon Bon Jovi brings unwanted screech rock bluster to "Levon" and Rod Stewart turns the gentle, charming sap of "Your Song" into noxious, gooey sap. The record succeeds in conveying the enormous influence and productivity of the collaboration between John and Taupin. But it sometimes makes you think they've been just a bit too prolific and that their influence might not always be a good one.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/15/2000
Label: Imports
UPC: 0042284574921
catalogNumber: 946134


  1. Border Song
  2. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going to Be a Long, Long Time)
  3. Come Down in Time
  4. Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting
  5. Crocodile Rock
  6. Daniel
  7. Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word
  8. Levon
  9. The Bitch Is Back
  10. Philadelphia Freedom
  11. Your Song
  12. Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me
  13. Madman Across the Water
  14. Sacrifice
  15. Burn Down the Mission
  16. Tonight

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alistair Anderson   Concertina
Oleta Adams   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Beach Boys   Track Performer
Jon Bon Jovi   Vocals,Track Performer
Kate Bush   Keyboards,Vocals,Track Performer
Joe Cocker   Track Performer
Phil Collins   Piano,Drums,Vocals,Track Performer
Daryl Hall & John Oates   Track Performer
Bruce Hornsby   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
George Michael   Track Performer
Aldo Nova   Guitar
Rod Stewart   Track Performer
Sting   Track Performer
Tina Turner   Vocals,Track Performer
Who   Track Performer
Steve Winwood   Organ
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Ronnie Cuber   Baritone Saxophone
Daryl Stuermer   Guitar
George Young   Alto Saxophone
Jeff Golub   Guitar
Richard Greene   Violin
Daryl Hall   Keyboards,Vocals,Track Performer
Mike Love   Vocals
John Miles   Synthesizer
Carl Wilson   Vocals
Elliot Easton   Electric Guitar
Kasim Sulton   Bass Guitar
Bruce Johnson   Vocals
Adrian Baker   Vocals
Glen Ballard   Synthesizer,Electric Piano
Dave Bargeron   Trombone
Gene Black   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Boddicker   Synthesizer
Jeff Bova   Horn Synthesizer
Michael Braun   Drums
Jack Bruno   Drums
David Bryan   Keyboards
John "Rabbit" Bundrick   Piano
Chris Cameron   Piano,Strings
Tim Cappello   Organ,Horn,Saxophone,Tambourine,Vocals
Eric Clapton   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Alan Clark   Synthesizer
Simon Clerk   Hammond Organ
David Clayton   Strings
Lyndon Connah   Keyboards
Deric Dyer   Saxophone
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Sammy Figueroa   Percussion
Phil Grande   Guitar
Dan Higgins   Saxophone
Steve Holley   Drums
Jardine   Vocals
Darryl Jones   Bass
Carol Kenyon   Vocals
Randy Kerber   Piano
Michael Landau   Guitar
Ian Lynne   Keyboards
Bob Mayo   Keyboards
John Molo   Drums
Charlie Morgan   Drums
Alan Murphy   Guitar
Billy Nicholls   Vocals
Tessa Niles   Vocals
Sinéad O'Connor   Vocals,Track Performer
John Oates   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Roland Orzabal   Guitar,Vocals
Pino Palladino   Bass
David Palmer   Drums
Del Palmer   Bass
Jeff Peters   Vocals
Pheonix Horns   Brass
Greg Phillinganes   Piano
Wilson Phillips   Track Performer
Joe Puerta   Bass
John "J.R." Robinson   Cymbals
Carmine Rojas   Bass
Alan Rubin   Trumpet
Kevin Savigar   Keyboards
Chrissy Shefts   Guitar
Davy Spillane   uillean pipes
Chris Stainton   Keyboards
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
T.M. Stevens   Bass
Jerry Stevenson   Guitar
John Thomas   Keyboards
Tico Torres   Drums
Ian Wilson   Vocals
Phil X.   Guitar
Carol Steele   Tambourine
Don Teschner   Mandolin
Tim Harrington   Bass
Leland Sklar   Bass
Ollie Marland   Keyboards,Vocals
George Marinelli   Guitar
Bob Feit   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Kenny Moore   Piano,Vocals
Howie Bertolo   Keyboards
John Cushon   Drums
Robbie Konor   Synthesizer
Nancy Treadlight   Bass,Strings,Vocals
Andy Hamilton   French Horn,Woodwind
Danny Jacobs   Oboe
T-Bone Wolk   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Jon Bon Jovi   Producer
Kate Bush   Producer
Phil Collins   Producer
Bruce Hornsby   Producer
Elton John   Composer
George Michael   Producer
Aldo Nova   Producer
Tina Turner   Producer
Rob Mounsey   Horn Arrangements
Jon Astley   Programming,Producer
Daryl Hall   Producer
Chris Lord-Alge   Producer,Engineer
Glen Ballard   Producer,Vocal Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Francis Buckley   Engineer
Tim Cappello   Horn Arrangements
Stephen Chase   Engineer
Eric Clapton   Producer
Roger Davies   Producer
Gus Dudgeon   Producer,Remixing
Jerry Hey   String Arrangements
Trevor Horn   Producer
Ian Lynne   Programming,Engineer
Andy MacPherson   Engineer
Larry Millas   Engineer
Peter Moshay   Engineer
Billy Nicholls   Producer
Obie O'Brien   Producer,Engineer
Sinéad O'Connor   Producer
John Oates   Producer
Roland Orzabal   Producer
Hugh Padgham   Producer,Engineer
Del Palmer   Engineer
Tom Perme   Guitar Techician
Jeff Peters   Engineer
Wilson Phillips   Vocal Arrangements
John Reynolds   Engineer
Bernie Taupin   Composer
David Tickle   Producer,Engineer
Rev. Timothy Wright   Contributor
Tuffy   Engineer
Richard Arnold   Engineer
Orion Crawford   Contributor,Chart Preparation
Curt Frasca   Engineer
T-Bone Wolk   Producer
Truman Stiles   Producer
David O'Donnell   Engineer
Chris Porter   Engineer

Customer Reviews