Pub. Date:
Twisting the Rope

Twisting the Rope

by R. A. MacAvoy


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, October 26


The Campbell Award–winning author’s follow-up to Tea with the Black Dragon: “Wow! MacAvoy’s done it again” (Anne McCaffrey, New York Times–bestselling author).
Mayland Long, aka the Black Dragon, has been enjoying a peaceful relationship with Martha Macnamara—but suddenly they face threats from seemingly every side. A wild psychic force is loose in the world; Martha’s three-year-old granddaughter has been kidnapped; and one of her Celtic musician friends has been found dead, hanging by a rope of twisted grass. Now the Black Dragon must use his wits to rescue the little girl and hunt for a killer . . . even if it brings him to a horrifying realization.
In this novel, the author of The Book of Kells returns to the modern-day California of Tea with the Black Dragon, blending fantasy, mystery, Chinese lore, and a timeless love story as she so masterfully did in her debut, which earned nominations for Nebula, Hugo, World Fantasy, and Philip K. Dick Awards. “MacAvoy supports her tale with a superbly drawn cast of characters . . . and her usual superior command of language” (Booklist).

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781497642317
Publisher: Open Road Media
Publication date: 09/09/2014
Series: Black Dragon (Mayland Long) Series , #2
Pages: 196
Sales rank: 583,579
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

R. A. MacAvoy is a highly acclaimed author of imaginative and original science fiction and fantasy novels. Her debut novel, Tea with the Black Dragon, won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. She has also written the Damiano trilogy, the chronicles of a wizard’s young son, set during an alternate history version of the Italian Renaissance; as well as The Book of Kells and Twisting the Rope, the highly acclaimed sequel to Tea with the Black Dragon. MacAvoy is also the author of the beloved and much‑praised Lens of the World trilogy.

Customer Reviews