Twenty Years and Change

Twenty Years and Change

by Collin RayeCollin Raye


1 New & Used Starting at $22.95


It's been a long time between new studio albums from Collin Raye. His last was in October of 2001, when Can't Back Down closed out his contract with Epic Records. Four years later, he's on an independent -- Aspirion, which is distributed by Navarre -- and has his long-awaited collection of new material in Twenty Years and Change. Unlike a lot of artists who return to independent status, Raye has not stripped down his sound or returned to his roots -- although it could be argued that the slick, ballad-heavy country-pop on this album is indeed his roots, since that's what gave him his biggest hits and sustained popularity. Although there's a couple of lively moments here, such as the winning "Hurricane Jane," this is a calm, gentle, polished record that sounds as if it could have fit onto adult contemporary pop stations in the mid-'90s; after all, he does cover Survivor's power ballad "The Search Is Over." Which doesn't make it a bad listen -- it's professionally made and well performed by Raye, who sounds a bit older but still in good voice -- but it is a little samey and safe, sometimes verging on background music. That may not make for a particularly engaging listen, but it is a friendly one, and fans who have been waiting nearly half a decade for Collin Raye to come back should enjoy this, even if it's unlikely it will win him new fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2005
Label: Aspirion Records
UPC: 0185577000186
catalogNumber: 186

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Collin Raye   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Glen Duncan   Fiddle,Mandolin
Eddie Bayers   Percussion,Drums
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Sonny Garrish   Steel Guitar
Paul Leim   Percussion,Drums
Fred Mollin   Acoustic Guitar
Steve Nathan   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Larry Paxton   Bass,Bass Guitar
Mike Rojas   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Steve Shehan   Acoustic Guitar
C. Michael Spriggs   Acoustic Guitar
John Willis   Banjo,Electric Guitar
Johnny Neel   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle
Rick Jackson   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Tim Lauer   Accordion
Johnny Garcia   Electric Guitar
Larry Beaird   Acoustic Guitar
Gene Lesage   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hammond B3
Jon Gardner   Percussion,Drums
Paul Scolten   Percussion,Drums
Mike Chapman   Bass,Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Collin Raye   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Conway Twitty   Composer
Melissa Manchester   Composer
Bob DiPiero   Composer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Fred Mollin   Audio Production
Jack Nance   Composer
Tom Shapiro   Composer
Tracy Wallner   Art Direction
Lawrence Williams   Composer
Jason Blume   Composer
Johnny Garcia   Producer,Audio Production
Tom Damphier   Composer
Rivers Rutherford   Composer
Stan Cornelius   Producer,Audio Production
Troy Verges   Composer
Gene Lesage   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Phillip Houston   Engineer
JD Shuff   Engineer
Rory Feek   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews