Twenties Sweetheart

Twenties Sweetheart

by Annette HanshawAnnette Hanshaw


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 30


Released in 1995 on the Jasmine label, Annette Hanshaw The Twenties Sweetheart might easily be confused with Sweetheart of the Twenties, issued in 2006 by Halcyon/Sounds of Yesteryear. The two compilations have 11 titles in common. While Halcyon includes two excerpts from a Hanshaw interview with Brian Rust, the Jasmine disc contains 21 musical tracks, compared with Halcyon's fourteen. Annette Hanshaw (1901-1985) was one of the first white female singers to make authentic jazz records. She did this in collaboration with some of the best Caucasian improvisers active in New York during the '20s; had the entertainment industry's racially segregated policies not been in place, it is quite likely that she'd have collaborated regularly with some of the top Afro-American artists of the day. (This did happen once, according to Hanshaw herself, who claimed to have recorded two titles with pianists James P. Johnson and Clarence Williams in December 1929). The Twenties Sweetheart begins with the singer's two earliest commercially released records, which were cut on September 12, 1926, and closes with two titles waxed at a session that took place in May 1928. The 1926 material (tracks one-three) with accompaniments by a group fronted by trumpeter Red Nichols and trombonist Miff Mole. 1927 was a magnificent year for Hanshaw as her backing bands grew ever more solid and interesting. On tracks four and five she sings with pianist Irving Brodsky and Jimmy Lytell, a capable clarinetist who reappears on tracks 20 and 21 with pianist Rube Bloom. Tracks six-eight find Hanshaw working with the Original Memphis Five, which in this case meant Red and Miff with clarinetist George Bohn, pianist Frank Signorelli, and drummer Ray Bauduc. But the heart of this collection exists in tracks nine-fifteen, whereby Hanshaw does some of her all-time best singing in the company of a quartet billed either as Four Instrumental Stars or the Sizzlin' Syncopators. This amazing group consisted of violinist Joe Venuti, guitarist Eddie Lang, bass saxophonist Adrian Rollini (also heard playing goofus, hot fountain pen, piano, and celeste) and drummer Vic Berton who, on the cheerfully optimistic and rhythmically invigorating "I'm Somebody's Somebody Now," executes what must be the first phonographically recorded jazz tympani solo.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/20/1995
Label: Jasmine Music
UPC: 5013727254224
catalogNumber: 2542
Rank: 97085


  1. Black Bottom
  2. Six Feet of Papa
  3. Don't Take That Black Bottom Away
  4. Here or There
  5. I Gotta Get Somebody to Love
  6. Wistful and Blue
  7. What Do I Care
  8. Nuthin'
  9. I'm Somebody's Somebody Now
  10. I Like What You Like
  11. Ain't That a Grand and Glorious Feeling?
  12. Who-Oo? You-Oo, That's Who!
  13. Under the Moon
  14. It Was Only a Sun Shower
  15. Who's That Knocking at My Door?
  16. The Song Is Ended
  17. Thinking of You
  18. Mine - All Mine
  19. There Must Be Somebody Else
  20. Get out and Get Under the Moon
  21. We Love It

Album Credits

Customer Reviews