Turn the Heat Up!

Turn the Heat Up!

by Shemekia Copeland Shemekia Copeland




On her Alligator Records debut, TURN UP THE HEAT, 19-year-old Shemekia Copeland honors the lineage of fiery female vocalists like Bessie Smith, Etta James, and Janis Joplin with a set of butt-shakin' rockers and soul-soaked ballads. The self-described "queen-sized" singer, who is the daughter of the late Texas bluesman Johnny Copeland, has a big but childlike voice that recalls the '50s rhythm and blues of Little Esther Phillips. Two "bossy babe" tunes, the title track and "I Always Get My Man," open the proceedings. Then Copeland hits her threshhold of pain on "Salt In My Wounds," shouting and growling about a man who not only wronged her but threw his new love in her face. "Ghetto Child" is also a wrenching ballad, but good blueswomen always bounce back, and Copeland turns bold again for "Big Lovin' Woman" and "My Turn Baby." As a whole, TURN UP THE HEAT heralds the arrival of a new blues queen.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/1998
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551485728
catalogNumber: 4857
Rank: 45743


  1. Turn up the Heat
  2. I Always Get My Man
  3. Salt in My Wounds
  4. Cold Feet
  5. Suspicion
  6. My Turn Baby
  7. Ghetto Child
  8. Your Mama's Talking
  9. Has Anybody Seen My Man?
  10. Married to the Blues
  11. Big Lovin' Woman
  12. My Kind of Guy
  13. Have Mercy
  14. It Don't Hurt No More

Album Credits

Customer Reviews