Tune in Tommorrow: Soundtrack

Tune in Tommorrow: Soundtrack

by Wynton MarsalisWynton Marsalis


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This soundtrack recording is very significant in the career of Wynton Marsalis. For the first time the trumpeter displayed a sound of his own; the Miles Davis influence was finally gone. In addition Marsalis not only debuted with his septet (which consisted of trombonist Wycliffe Gordon, altoist Wes Anderson, Todd Williams on tenor, soprano and clarinet, pianist Marcus Roberts, bassist Reginald Veal and drummer Herlin Riley) but, in writing this score, Marsalis showed how talented an arranger he was; very much in the Duke Ellington tradition but without resorting to copying. The 16 selections are sometimes a bit fragmented (a few use extra personnel including clarinetist Michael White on six tracks and vocals by Shirley Horn and Johnny Adams) but they hold up very well apart from the movie and have plenty of spirit and humor.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/08/2008
Label: Wounded Bird
UPC: 0664140704428
catalogNumber: 7044
Rank: 8343

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wynton Marsalis   Primary Artist,Trumpet
Lucky Peterson   Organ
Warren Bernhardt   Organ
Shirley Horn   Vocals
Marcus Roberts   Piano
Michael White   Clarinet
Joe Temperley   Baritone Saxophone
Alvin Batiste   Clarinet
Herlin Riley   Drums
Reginald Veal   Bass
Johnny Adams   Vocals
Harvey Estrin   Alto Saxophone
Wycliffe Gordon   Trombone
Herbert Harris   Tenor Saxophone
Wes Anderson   Alto Saxophone
Todd Sebastian Williams   Clarinet,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Vernon Duke   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Sonny Kompanek   Arranger,String Arrangements
Wynton Marsalis   Arranger,Composer
Delfeayo Marsalis   Producer
Joel Siegel   Composer
Diane DeLouise Wessel   Executive Producer
Peter Afterman   Executive Producer
Steven Epstein   Producer

Customer Reviews