Tumbleweed Connection

Tumbleweed Connection

by Elton JohnElton John


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Instead of repeating the formula that made Elton John a success, John and Bernie Taupin attempted their most ambitious record to date for the follow-up to their breakthrough. A loose concept album about the American West, Tumbleweed Connection emphasized the pretensions that always lay beneath their songcraft. Half of the songs don't follow conventional pop song structures; instead, they flow between verses and vague choruses. These experiments are remarkably successful, primarily because Taupin's lyrics are evocative and John's melodic sense is at its best. As should be expected for a concept album about the Wild West, the music draws from country and blues in equal measures, ranging from the bluesy choruses of "Ballad of a Well-Known Gun" and the modified country of "Country Comfort" to the gospel-inflected "Burn Down the Mission" and the rolling, soulful "Amoreena." Paul Buckmaster manages to write dramatic but appropriate string arrangements that accentuate the cinematic feel of the album.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/20/1996
Label: Island
UPC: 0731452815521
catalogNumber: 528155
Rank: 4895

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elton John   Primary Artist,Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Dusty Springfield   Background Vocals
Madeline Bell   Background Vocals
Lesley Duncan   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Herbie Flowers   Bass Guitar
Sue Glover   Background Vocals
Tony Hazzard   Background Vocals
Sunny Leslie   Background Vocals
Mick Ronson   Guitar
Sue & Sunny   Background Vocals
Brian Dee   Organ
Paul Buckmaster   Conductor
Tony Burrows   Background Vocals
Ian Duck   Harmonica
Mike Egan   Acoustic Guitar
Kay Garner   Background Vocals
Dave Glover   Bass Guitar
Gordon Huntley   Steel Guitar
Karl Jenkins   Oboe
Robin Jones   Conga,Tambourine
Skaila Kanga   Harp
Chris Laurence   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Barry Morgan   Drums
Dee Murray   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Nigel Olsson   Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals
Roger Pope   Percussion,Drums
Caleb Quaye   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Thatcher   Acoustic Guitar,12-string Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Johnny VanDerrick   Violin
Sunny   Background Vocals
Johnny Van Derek   Violin
Tammy Hunt   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Paul Buckmaster   Arranger
Robin Geoffrey Cable   Engineer
Gus Dudgeon   Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Greg Penny   Producer
Bernie Taupin   Lyricist
John Tobler   Liner Notes
David Larkham   Artwork,Art Direction,Cover Design

Customer Reviews