Tubular Bells 2

Tubular Bells 2

by Mike OldfieldMike Oldfield


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


Tubular Bells II is the update and/or sequel to Mike Oldfield's landmark 1973 new age recording Tubular Bells, which will resonate forever as the haunting theme to The Exorcist. Here, Oldfield repeats his multi-instrumental performance, playing guitar, banjo, organ, percussion, mandolin, and the titular tubular bells, although in a nod to modernism, the latter instruments often appear as samples through Oldfield's Kurzweil synth rig. It's the piece's captivating main theme that again takes center stage here. The eight-minute opening track "Sentinel" plays it off of whining guitars and breathy female vocals. The latter element is a nice touch. The genre that the original Bells helped establish has come quite a ways in 20 years, and this fact isn't lost on Oldfield. Throughout II, he incorporates the multi-cultural influences that have cross-pollinated with new age, bringing in breathy ethnic flutes, Asian-inflected string sounds, and the whispered foreign words of "Sentinel." The famous ceiling of the album, where each instrument is introduced by a narrator, becomes another summit between old and new. Alan Rickman handles the introductions (during "Bell") and runs through a litany of instruments that includes "digital sound processor," reed and pipe organ, "the Venetian effect," glockenspiel, "two slightly sampled electric guitars," and vocal chords, which Rickman introduces as if they're an exotic museum piece. Some of Oldfield's fancy-handed riffs fail; the bagpipes of "Tattoo" seem too obvious and "Sunjammer" sounds like an unfortunate outtake from the Who's Tommy. But overall, Tubular Bells II succeeds mightily. It doesn't beat its predecessor, but does update its sonics and technology with Oldfield's flair for studied grandiosity.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0745099061821
catalogNumber: 990618
Rank: 64847


  1. Sentinel
  2. Dark Star
  3. Clear Light
  4. Blue Saloon
  5. Sunjammer
  6. Red Dawn
  7. The Bell
  8. Weightless
  9. The Great Plain
  10. Sunset Door
  11. Tattoo
  12. Altered State
  13. Maya Gold
  14. Moonshine

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mike Oldfield   Primary Artist,Organ,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Mandolin,Percussion,Piano,Cymbals,Drums,Bass Drums,Glockenspiel,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,Tambourine,Triangle,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Bells,Hand Clapping,Timpani,Classical Guitar,Tubular Bells
Sally Bradshaw   Vocals
Celtic Bevy Band   Bagpipes
Edie Lehmann   Vocals
Susannah Melvoin   Vocals
Jamie Muhoberac   Drums,Keyboards,Noise,Drum Loop
P.D. Scots Pipe Band   Bagpipes
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Edie Lehmann Boddicker   Vocals
John "4 Daddman" Robinson   Drums
Strolling Player   Master of Ceremonies

Technical Credits

Mike Oldfield   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Tom Newman   Producer,Engineer
Trevor Horn   Producer
Steve MacMillan   Engineer
Tim Weidner   Engineer
Rob Dickins   Executive Producer
Eric Cadieux   Programming
Tim Weider   Engineer
Steve MacMilan   Engineer
Jeremy Parker   Personal Assistant
Clive Banks   Representation

Customer Reviews