Trunk Muzik 0-60

Trunk Muzik 0-60

by YelawolfYelawolf


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Yelawolf is a white rapper from Alabama with a delivery somewhat similar to styles Eminem has employed in the past: fast delivery, lyrics displaying a mordant wit, and a tendency to wallow in images of poverty rather than glorifying mindless consumerism. But there's a horror-soundtrack darkness to his music, with synth lines reminiscent of John Carpenter, that gives it a greater intensity than Eminem's clowning can muster. Furthermore, he's defiantly country, describing mobile homes, trips to Wal-Mart, and generally setting himself up as what happens -- as he puts it in "That's What We on Now" -- "when the sticks meet the bricks." This release is described as a "retail mixtape," since it contains six tracks from Yelawolf's last underground release, Trunk Muzik, and six new tracks presumably recorded in the wake of his signing to Interscope. A few guests -- Raekwon, Bun B., and Gucci Mane -- show up, but it's when Yelawolf's on his own that he's strongest, as on "Pop the Trunk," one of his best-known underground tracks. A story of backwoods violence underpinned by piano that sounds culled from a Nine Inch Nails ballad, it could have come off the soundtrack to the Kentucky-set TV crime drama Justified or the movie Winter's Bone, about meth dealers in Appalachia. This mix of industrial/goth moroseness, hip-hop braggadocio, and stark lyrical brutality makes Yelawolf's major-label debut (whether you call it a mixtape or an album) interesting, but it remains to be seen how quickly the appeal of his persona and subject matter exhaust themselves.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2010
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602527421414
catalogNumber: 001445002
Rank: 14991

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Yelawolf   Primary Artist,Vocals
Raekwon   Vocals
Bun B   Vocals
Gucci Mane   Vocals
Rock City   Vocals
Janine Booth   Vocals
Shawty Fatt   Vocals
Nikkiya   Vocals
Tamara "Tata" Tickaradze   Vocals

Technical Credits

William Washington   Composer
Kawan "KP" Prather   Composer,Executive Producer
Courtney Sills   Management
Laura Carter   Marketing Coordinator
Willpower   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Jim Jonsin   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Ianthe Zevos   Creation
Dennis Dennehy   Publicity
Robert Marks   Engineer
Andrew Flad   Marketing
Cameron Wallace   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Timothy Thomas   Composer
Theron Thomas   Composer
Radric Davis   Composer
James Ho   Composer
Irvin Johnson   Engineer
Corey Woods   Composer
Bernard Freeman   Composer
Michael Atha   Composer
Marcus Beatty   Engineer
Rick James   Composer
Ian Blanton   Engineer
Tristan McClain   Engineer
Jonny McCullom   Composer
Christopher Richardson   Engineer
Bradley Post   Engineer
Chris Pfaff   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Archie Davis   Marketing Coordinator
Seneca Doss   Marketing Coordinator
Ray Alba   Publicity
James Schafer   Composer
Jeremy Jones   Management

Customer Reviews