Tron: Legacy [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Tron: Legacy [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Daft PunkDaft Punk


$9.75 $11.99 Save 19% Current price is $9.75, Original price is $11.99. You Save 19%.


"The Game Has Changed" is the name of one of the tracks on Daft Punk's score to Tron: Legacy, and it also fits Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo's music for the film. When it was announced that the duo would score the sequel to one of sci-fi's most visionary movies, it seemed like the perfect fit: Their sleek, neon-tipped, playful aesthetic springs from their love of late-'70s and early-'80s pop culture artifacts like Tron. However, Tron: Legacy takes a much darker, more serious approach than the original film and Daft Punk follows suit, delivering soaring and ominous pieces that sound more like modern classical music than any laser tag-meets-roller disco fantasies fans may have had. Tron: Legacy's legitimacy as a score may surprise listeners unaware of Bangalter's fine work on 2003's Irreversible; while that score actually hews closer to Daft Punk's sound, it showed his potential for crafting music beyond the duo's usual scope. Working with the London Orchestra, Bangalter and de Homem-Christo fuse electronic and orchestral motifs seamlessly and strikingly. "The Game Has Changed" may be the most dramatic example: It starts with a wistful wisp of melody that sounds like a ghost in the machine, then swells of strings and brass and buzzsaw electronics submerge but never quite overtake it. Elsewhere, "Recognizer"'s pulsing horns and synths and "The Son of Flynn"'s arpeggios and strings are so tightly knit that they finish each others' phrases. Daft Punk get in a few clever nods to Wendy Carlos' Tron score, from "The Grid"'s blobby analog synth tones to "Adagio for Tron"'s mournful sense of lost wonder. However, for most of Tron: Legacy, they're concerned with pushing boundaries. It's not until the score's second half that the duo's more typical sound emerges on "Derezzed"'s filter-disco and on "End of the Line," where witty 8-bit sounds evoke '80s video games. These tracks come as welcome relief from the tension Daft Punk ratchets up on almost every other piece, particularly "Rectifier" and "C.L.U." Encompassing the past, present, and future of sci-fi scores, Tron: Legacy feels like it grew and mutated from its origins the same way the film's world did. Without a doubt, it's a game-changer for Daft Punk.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/07/2010
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050087160555
catalogNumber: 000567202


  1. Overture
  2. The Grid
  3. The Son of Flynn
  4. Recognizer
  5. Armory
  6. Arena
  7. Rinzler
  8. The Game Has Changed
  9. Outlands
  10. Adagio for TRON
  11. Nocturne
  12. End of Line
  13. Derezzed
  14. Fall
  15. Solar Sailer
  16. Rectifier
  17. Disc Wars
  18. C.L.U.
  19. Arrival
  20. Flynn Lives
  21. TRON Legacy (End Titles)
  22. Finale
  23. [CD-ROM Track]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Daft Punk   Primary Artist
Derek Watkins   Trumpet
Tony Lewis   Celli
John Barclay   Trumpet,Piccolo
Mark Berrow   Violin
Jeff Bridges   Dialogue
Liz Edwards   Violin
Richard Edwards   Tenor Trombone
Roger Garland   Violin
John Heley   Celli
Garfield Jackson   Viola
Skaila Kanga   Harp
Paul Kegg   Celli
Gary Kettel   Timpani
Martin Loveday   Celli
Rita Manning   Violin
Anthony Pleeth   Cello,Soloist
Maciej Rakowski   Violin
Frank Ricotti   Percussion
Sonia Slany   Violin
Robert Smissen   Viola
Jonathan Strange   Violin
David Theodore   Oboe
Cathy Thompson   Violin
Allen Walley   Bass
Richard Bissill   French Horn
Dermot Crehan   Violin
Steve McManus   Bass
Mary Scully   Bass
Peter Lale   Viola
Philippa Ibbotson   Violin
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Boguslaw Kostecki   Violin
Frank Schaefer   Celli
Bruce White   Viola
Andrew Parker   Viola
David Fuest   Clarinet
David Hartley   Piano,Celeste
Stephen Henderson   Percussion
Rolf Wilson   Violin
Paul Clarvis   Percussion
Gavin Greenaway   Conductor
Stephen Maw   Contrabassoon
Donald McVay   Viola
Lindsay Shilling   Tenor Trombone
Edward Vanderspar   Viola
Jane Marshall   Oboe,Cor anglais
Everton Nelson   Violin
Nigel Black   French Horn
Rachel Bolt   Viola
Deborah Widdup   Violin
Anna Noakes   Flute
Lorraine McAslan   Violin
Emlyn Singleton   Violin
Warren Zielinski   Violin
Richard Addison   Clarinet
Nick Barr   Viola
Chris Worsey   Celli
Stacey Watton   Bass
Nina Robertson   Flute,Piccolo
David Stewart   Bass Trombone,Contrabass (Vocal)
Owen Slade   Tuba,Cimbasso
Vicci Wardman   Viola
Karen Vaughan   Harp
Richard Skinner   Bassoon
Matthew Draper   Oboe
Kate Moore   Trumpet
Katie Wilkinson Khoroshunin   Viola
Stephen Mair   Bass
Mike McMenemy   Violin
Julie Andrews   Bassoon
Tom Rees-Roberts   Trumpet
Debbie Preece   Violin
James McLeod   Violin
David Woodcock   Violin
Roger Montgomery   French Horn
Michael Hext   Tenor Trombone
John Thurgood   Tuba,French Horn
Jo Knight   Celli
Jonathan Williams   Celli
Michael Thompson   Tuba,French Horn
Jonathan Rees   Violin
Phillip Eastop   Tuba,French Horn
Katherine Gowers   Violin
Nicholas Bucknall   Clarinet
Peter Hanson   Violin
Richard Berry   Tuba,French Horn
John Bradbury   Violin
Eliza Marshall   Flute
Dominic Hacket   Timpani
Dai Emmanuel   Violin
Paddy Lanngian   Bass
Glynn Matthews   Percussion
Michael Kidd   French Horn

Technical Credits

Geoff Foster   Engineer
Daft Punk   Producer
Steve Gerdes   Art Direction
Thomas Bangalter   Composer
Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo   Composer
Desirée Craig-Ramos   Soundtrack Director
Glen Lajeski   Marketing
Paul Hahn   Project Executive
Toby Chu   Arranger
Thomas Bowes   Orchestra Leader
Joseph Trapanese   Arranger,Orchestration
Sean Bailey   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Joseph Kosinski   Executive Soundtrack Producer

Customer Reviews