Trailer Tracks: 18 Classic Southern Rock Anthems!

Trailer Tracks: 18 Classic Southern Rock Anthems!


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 2


If you can get past the cheesy cover and the borderline offensive title, Trailer Tracks is a great AOR collection. The subtitle bills the disc as 18 Classic Southern Rock Anthems, which is a bit of a stretch since many of the bands are from such non-Southern places as Flint, MI (Grand Funk Railroad), Los Angeles (Steppenwolf), Delaware (George Thorogood), Dunfermline, Scotland (Nazareth), London, England (Free), and Winnipeg, Canada (Bachman-Turner Overdrive). Probably 18 Classic Rock Anthems would have been a better title because regardless of where the artists hail from there are some great songs here. With the exception of "Copperhead Road" by Steve Earle, all of the tracks could be found blasting out of car radios in the 1970s and early '80s (and beyond if your area is blessed with a good AOR station) at beaches, parks, and parking lots all over the U.S.A. It is cool to have tracks like "Flirtin' With Disaster" by Molly Hatchet, "Hair of the Dog" by Nazareth, "Rocky Mountain Way" by Joe Walsh, "Move It on Over" by George Thorogood & the Destroyers, and "Whipping Post" by the Allman Brothers Band all rounded up in the same place. One might contest the inclusion of the aforementioned Earle track as well as "The Devil Went Down to Georgia" by the Charlie Daniels Band, which is hardly an AOR staple and really never needs to be heard again, but overall, Trailer Tracks is hard rock-solid and a cooler full of ice-cold fun.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/18/2003
Label: Utv Records
UPC: 0044006952628
catalogNumber: 069526
Rank: 47777


  1. Sweet Home Alabama
  2. The Devil Went Down to Georgia
  3. China Grove
  4. Mississippi Queen
  5. Move It on Over
  6. Tuff Enuff
  7. Flirtin' With Disaster
  8. Born to Be Wild
  9. (Ghost) Riders in the Sky
  10. Copperhead Road
  11. Rocky Mountain Way
  12. Dixie Chicken
  13. Dixie Rock
  14. Whipping Post
  15. Takin' Care of Business
  16. Hair of the Dog
  17. All Right Now
  18. We're an American Band

Album Credits

Technical Credits

David Rea   Composer
Gregg Allman   Composer
Steve Earle   Composer
Paul Rodgers   Composer
Joe Walsh   Composer
Jim Hall   Composer
Randy Bachman   Composer
Mars Bonfire   Composer
Danny Joe Brown   Composer
Andy Fraser   Composer
Lowell George   Composer
Tom Johnston   Composer
Corky Laing   Composer
Dan McCafferty   Composer
Joe Vitale   Composer
Stan Jones   Composer
Kenny Passarelli   Composer
Kim Wilson   Composer
Pete Agnew   Composer
Don Brewer   Composer
Charlie Daniels   Composer
Manny Charlton   Composer
Tom Crain   Composer
Fred Edwards   Composer
Rocke Grace   Composer
Jack Hall   Composer
Ricky Hirsch   Composer
Dave Hlubek   Composer
Martin Kibbee   Composer
Ed King   Composer
James Marshall   Composer
Felix Pappalardi   Composer
Gary Rossington   Composer
Darrell Sweet   Composer
Banner Thomas   Composer
Ronnie Van Zant   Composer
Leslie West   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Charlie Hayward   Composer
Taz DeGregorio   Composer
Fred Martin   Composer

Customer Reviews