Trail of Memories: The Randy Travis Anthology

Trail of Memories: The Randy Travis Anthology

by Randy Travis


2 New & Used Starting at $12.32


This is one stunning collection. If Randy Travis doesn't have as high a profile now as he did in the mid-'80s, when he was spearheading the New Traditionalist movement, it's not because he hasn't been making first-rate music. In 44 cuts spanning the years 1986 (which saw the release of his first solo album, Storms of Life) through 1999, Trail of Memories illustrates the breathtaking consistency and impeccable song selection that has made every Travis album a memorable event, even if country radio begs to differ. Disc 1 contains the critical early tracks -- "Diggin' Up Bones," "On the Other Hand," "Forever and Ever, Amen," "Deeper than a Holler," et al. -- but Disc 2 wears well on the strength of "Better Class of Losers," "Memories of Old Santa Fe," "Look Heart, No Hands," and other gems. Sounding like a clone of Lefty Frizzell, Travis invests his lyrics with heart and soul -- his smooth, crooning baritone can wrap itself around a tearjerker like no one else's, and his good-natured personality shines through when he get holds of a lighthearted, upbeat lyric. The set is rounded out with several duets Travis cut with the likes of George Jones, B. B. King, Tammy Wynette, and fellow Frizzell acolyte Merle Haggard, along with single remixes of "It's Just a Matter of Time" and "Hard Rock Bottom of Your Heart" and a long single edit of "Heroes and Friends." Travis probably wouldn't want to be called a national treasure, but he's something special all the same. Take this trail to wherever it leads; it'll do your spirit good.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2002
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227818425
catalogNumber: 78184

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Randy Travis   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
Paul Overstreet   Background Vocals
Verlon Thompson   Background Vocals
Tammy Wynette   Track Performer
Paul Davis   Background Vocals
Matt Rollings   Piano,Keyboards
David Thomas   Background Vocals
Carol Chase   Background Vocals
Steve Gibson   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,12-string Guitar
Glen Duncan   Fiddle
Cindy Walker   Background Vocals
Bobby Wood   Keyboards
Blaine Sprouse   Fiddle
Troy Seals   Background Vocals
Gary Prim   Keyboards
Curtis Wright   Background Vocals
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Kathie Baillie   Background Vocals
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Barry Beckett   Piano
Bruce Bouton   Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar
Thomas Brannon   Background Vocals
Mike Brignardello   Bass
Michael Brook   Background Vocals
Robbie Buchanan   Piano
Dennis Burnside   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Wurlitzer
Larry Byrom   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Dave Carpenter   Acoustic Bass
Mark Casstevens   Acoustic Guitar
Alvin Chea   Background Vocals
Cherry Sisters   Background Vocals
Doug Clements   Background Vocals
Bruce Dees   Background Vocals
Shane Keister   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Cedric Dent   Background Vocals
Mark Douglas   Dobro
Dan Dugmore   Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Phil Forrest   Background Vocals
Paul Franklin   Dobro,Steel Guitar,Pedal Dobro
Roy Galloway   Background Vocals
Sonny Garrish   Steel Guitar
Doyle Grisham   Pedal Steel Guitar
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
Mark Hembree   Acoustic Bass
Hoot Hester   Fiddle
Jim Hoke   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Sherilyn Huffman   Background Vocals
David Hungate   Bass
Teddy Irwin   Acoustic Guitar
John Jarvis   Piano,Keyboards
Greg Jennings   Electric Guitar
Wendy Suits Johnson   Background Vocals
Joey Kibble   Background Vocals
Mark Kibble   Background Vocals
B.B. King   Guitar
Alan LeBoeuf   Background Vocals
Kyle Lehning   Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Wurlitzer
Paul Leim   Drums
Chris Leuzinger   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Steve Lindsey   Synthesizer,Kurzweil Strings
Dennis Locorriere   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Mac McAnally   Acoustic Guitar
Jay Dee Maness   Steel Guitar
Brent Mason   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,6-string bass
Claude V. McKnight   Background Vocals
Terry McMillan   Harmonica,Percussion
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
Gene Miller   Background Vocals
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Steve Nathan   Keyboards
Craig Nelson   Bass
Fred Newell   Electric Guitar
Louis Dean Nunley   Background Vocals
Mark O'Connor   Fiddle,Mandolin
Cyril Pahinui   Slack Key Guitar
James Bla Pahinui   Ukulele
Martin Pahinui   Bass
Dean Parks   Solo Instrumental,Acoustic Guitar
Richard Perry   Bass (Vocal)
Billy Puett   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet
Suzy Ragsdale   Background Vocals
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Cindy Richardson Walker   Background Vocals
Tom Roady   Percussion
Kayton Roberts   Steel Guitar
Brent Rowan   Electric Guitar
Tom Rutledge   Fiddle
Darrell Scott   Background Vocals
Randy Scruggs   Acoustic Guitar
Allen Shamblin   Background Vocals
Hank Singer   Fiddle
Lisa Silver   Background Vocals
Milton Sledge   Drums
Denis Solee   Clarinet
Jay Spell   Electric Piano
Keith Stegall   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Harry Stinson   Drums
James Stroud   Drums
Bobby Thompson   Acoustic Guitar
Diane Tidwell   Background Vocals
Diane Vanette   Background Vocals
Billy Joe Walker   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Mervyn Warren   Background Vocals
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar
Bergen White   Background Vocals
Jack Williams   Bass
John Willis   Electric Guitar
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Curtis Young   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle,Mandolin
Roy Huskey   Acoustic Bass
David Johnson   Fiddle
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica
Larrie Londin   Drums
Dick Tunney   Accordion
Don Jackson   Clarinet
Lib Hatcher   Background Vocals
Mike Shapiro   Drums
Kirk "Jelly Roll" Johnson   Harmonica,Percussion
Martha Sharp   Background Vocals
Diane Stegall   Background Vocals
Don Schlitz   Background Vocals
Gary Carter   Steel Guitar
Gary "Bud" Smith   Piano,Keyboards
Greg Walker   Background Vocals
Michael Bonagura   Background Vocals
Dennis Wilson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Skip Ewing   Composer
Paul Overstreet   Composer
Randy Travis   Composer,Producer
Michel Camilo   Composer
Max D. Barnes   Composer
Steve Gibson   Producer
Chris Lord-Alge   Engineer
Buddy Blackmon   Composer
Joseph Bogan   Engineer
Jim Cotton   Engineer
Gene Eichelberger   Engineer
Paul Ericksen   Engineer
Byron Gallimore   Producer
Gore   Composer
Alan Jackson   Composer
Julian King   Engineer
Tom Knox   Engineer
Greg Laney   Engineer
Kyle Lehning   Producer,Engineer
Howie Lindeman   Engineer
Steve Lindsey   String Arrangements
Marshall Morgan   Engineer
Gary Paczosa   Engineer
Richard Perry   Producer
Gary Peterson   Discographical Annotation
Eric Prestidge   Engineer
Elliot Scheiner   Engineer
Rich Schirmer   Engineer
Bill Schnee   Engineer
David Schober   Engineer
Toby Seay   Engineer
Russell Smith   Composer
Keith Stegall   Producer
James Stroud   Producer
Vip Vipperman   Composer
Bergen White   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Robert K. Oermann   Liner Notes
Richard Hanson   Engineer
Jason Lehning   Engineer
Kirt Odle   Engineer
Nat Stuckey   Composer
Keith Odle   Engineer
Trey Bruce   Composer
Maria Villar   Art Direction
Steven Chean   Editorial Research
Reggie Collins   Discographical Annotation
Ben Harris   Engineer
Max T. Barnes   Composer
Don Schlitz   Composer
Tim Scanlin   Liner Note Coordination
Keith Follesé   Composer
Dennis O'Rourke   Composer
James Paul O'Hara   Composer
Carl Vipperman   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews