by Vijay IyerVijay Iyer


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Vijay Iyer and alto saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa blend their Indian heritage with the influence of their New York jazz experience in this striking session, where they're joined by bassist Stephan Crump and drummer Marcus Gilmore. The haunting miniature "The Weight of Things" (credited to the entire quartet) leads into the furious protest song "Macaca Please" (the latter title based on a slur uttered by a U.S. senator during the 2006 campaign), a cauldron of many influences. Iyer's dramatic reworking of Bud Powell's obscure "Comin' Up" gives it a more contemporary flavor, though the reggae rhythm gets tiresome after a while. Iyer's solo interpretation of the standard "I'm All Smiles" is more conventional, though with a bittersweet flavor. "Threnody" is not to be confused with Marian McPartland's composition; Iyer's haunting melody has a sense of foreboding disaster. Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/22/2008
Label: Sunnyside
UPC: 0016728118620
catalogNumber: 1186
Rank: 93128


  1. The Weight of Things
  2. Macaca Please
  3. Aftermath
  4. Comin' Up
  5. Without Lions
  6. Mehndi
  7. Age of Everything
  8. Window Text
  9. I'm All Smiles
  10. Machine Days
  11. Threnody
  12. Becoming

Album Credits

Customer Reviews