Tooth and Nail: The Making of a Female Fight Doctor

Tooth and Nail: The Making of a Female Fight Doctor

by Linda D. Dahl

Hardcover(Original)

$26.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

“Well-written, compelling, and revealing.”—Ronald Epstein, M.D., author of Attending

A fearless and exhilarating memoir of a surgeon who became one of the first female ringside boxing doctors in New York City, for fans of Judy Melinek, Pauline Chen and Atul Gawande


Fresh out of medical school, Linda Dahl began her surgical residency in the Bronx as a total fish out of water. Growing up in a Middle Eastern family in the American Midwest, she was a born outsider, and in her new community in New York, she felt even more isolated. Even at work she struggled to fit in: among her fellow specialists, she was one of the only women.

One night, at her husband’s urging, Dahl watched a boxing match between Shane Mosley and Oscar De La Hoya. Seeing Mosley survive against the odds gave Dahl hope that she, too, could find her footing. As her fandom grew, boxing became a way to connect with her patients and community. Later, when she was in practice on the Upper East Side, Dahl received a phone call from the New York State Athletic Commission. They were looking for a fight doctor. Dahl accepted.

Tooth and Nail chronicles the years Dahl spent as an ear, nose and throat surgeon by day and a ringside physician by night. Intrepid, adrenaline-fueled and loaded with behind-the-scenes takes on famous boxers, including Mike Tyson, Wladimir Klitschko and Miguel Cotto, Dahl’s story offers a modern examination of sexism, dislocation, the theater of boxing and a road map for how to excel in two very different male-dominated worlds.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781335017475
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication date: 07/24/2018
Edition description: Original
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 811,086
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Linda D. Dahl is an otolaryngologist in private practice in Manhattan. A native Midwesterner, Dahl received her MD from the University of Minnesota Medical School. She is the author of Clinician’s Guide to Breastfeeding.

Customer Reviews