Tony Rice Sings Gordon Lightfoot

Tony Rice Sings Gordon Lightfoot

by Tony RiceTony Rice


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bluegrass singer/guitarist Tony Rice has been recording songs written by Gordon Lightfoot throughout his career, and this 17-track compilation gathers them together, adding a previously unreleased version of "Whispers of the North" that was cut for Rice's Me and My Guitar album. Included are tracks Rice recorded as part of J.D. Crowe & the New South, the Tony Rice Unit, the Rice Brothers, in a duo with Norman Blake, and as a solo artist. That means that on the various tracks he's joined by a newgrass who's who that includes Jerry Douglas, Ricky Skaggs, Sam Bush, Vassar Clements, and Bela Fleck, among others. The selections include "Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald" and "Early Morning Rain," but for the most part Rice eschewed Lightfoot's better known compositions, and the collection serves to illustrate the overall quality of the songwriter's catalog. Rice did not just use the songs as platforms for picking sessions, either. His singing clearly influenced by Lightfoot's, he brought a strong interpretive ability to the lyrics. Of course, the picking is pretty hot, too.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/04/1996
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661037021
catalogNumber: 610370
Rank: 54089

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tony Rice   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Norman Blake   Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
Wyatt Rice   Guitar
Ricky Skaggs   Fiddle,Mandolin,Trombone,Viola,Tenor (Vocal)
Sam Bush   Mandolin,Violin,Baritone (Vocal)
Kate Wolf   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Todd Phillips   Bass
Larry Rice   Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals
Bill Emerson   Banjo,Vocals
Cole Burgess   Soprano Saxophone
Kathy Chiavola   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Vassar Clements   Fiddle
J.D. Crowe   Banjo,Guitar,Baritone (Vocal)
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Jimmy Gaudreau   Mandolin,Vocals
Bobby Hicks   Violin
Frank Poindexter   Dobro
Mark Schatz   Bass,Vocals,Acoustic Bass
Ricky Simkins   Fiddle,Viola
Rickie Simpkins   Fiddle,Viola
Bobby Slone   Bass
Bill Wolf   Piano
Ron Rice   Bass,Acoustic Bass

Technical Credits

Norman Blake   Producer
Tony Rice   Producer
Rice Brothers   Producer
J.D. Crowe   Producer
Bill Wolf   Producer
Scott Alarik   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews