Tomahawk Technique

Tomahawk Technique

by Sean PaulSean Paul


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


During the 2011-2012 seasons, the wonderfully fickle dancehall fan base had revived Shaggy as their superstar of choice, leaving less room for the swaggering Sean Paul. Maybe that's why the slick Tomahawk Technique feels like a play for the world with its Black Eyed Peas and Flo Rida-styled club tracks, the best of which has to be the slow-stepping "Got 2 Luv U," where Paul and Alexis Jordan shout sweet nothings over a Nicki Minaj-sized Stargate production. "How Deep Is Your Love" isn't the Bee Gees cut but a fine midtempo bedroom song with Kelly Rowland sounding quite tropical ("deep as de ocean floor") but when things slow to ballad level, all the gloss becomes fluff. "She Doesn't Mind" is more Wayne Wonder territory with Paul just somewhat committed to the song, but "Hold On" fights hard to deliver its message of uplift over the polish, suggesting it would be much better served by an acoustic guitar than its American Idol-big backing track. Things pick up when the album comes to a close as "Roll Wid di Don" punches out of the speakers with pure dancehall power and then the DJ Ammo feature "Touch the Sky" goes the full Pitbull with Paul rocking over electro, spitting out catch phrases and come-ons as the dancefloor fills. When Future Fambo joins for the shortie-chasin' closer, "Wedding Crashers," the album has its great novelty number like The Odyssey Mixtape had "Porno Tape," but a couple more true dancehall tracks would have made this feel more natural. Straying far from home, Tomahawk Technique isn't an awful Sean Paul album, but it is an odd one.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/21/2012
Label: Wea Int'l
UPC: 0075678825385
catalogNumber: 7882538
Rank: 89248

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sean Paul   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals
Nigel Staff   Keyboards
Benny Blanco   Keyboards
Pierre Medor   Keyboards
Dwayne Nesmith   Keyboards
Rico Love   Vocals,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Jonathan Lam   Bass,Guitar
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Musician
Shellback   Guitar,Keyboards
Tor Erik Hermansen   Musician
Frank Romano   Guitar
Eric Goudy   Keyboards

Technical Credits

William Derella   Management
David Sonenberg   Management
Christopher Chin   Executive Producer
Nigel Staff   Composer
Craig Kallman   Executive Producer
Stargate   Producer
Benny Blanco   Programming,Producer
Alana Da Fonseca   Engineer
Sean Paul   Programming,Executive Producer,Vocal Producer,Concept Design
Danny D.   Executive Producer,Management
Jason "Jigzagula" Henriques   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Sean Paul Henriques   Producer
Pierre Medor   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dwayne Nesmith   Programming,Producer
Rico Love   Producer
Miles Walker   Engineer
Conroy Forte   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer,Engineer
Tim Blacksmith   Executive Producer,Management
Damien Lewis   Engineer
Shellback   Composer,Programming,Producer
D. Leroy   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer
E. Goudy   Composer
B. Levin   Composer
P. Medor   Composer
D. Nesmith   Composer
E. Dean   Composer
S. Henriques   Composer
DJ Ammo   Producer,Engineer
Tandra "Lytes" Jhagroo   Arranger
Earl Hood   Programming
Eric Goudy   Programming
D. Omelio   Composer
Warren Gladstone Williams   Composer
Nate Burgess   Guitar Engineer

Customer Reviews