Titus Awakes: The Lost Book of Gormenghast

Titus Awakes: The Lost Book of Gormenghast

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 $14.36 Save 30% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $14.36. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Mervyn Peake¹s Gormenghast trilogy is widely acknowledged to be, as Robertson Davies pronounced, ³a classic of our age.² In these extraordinary novels, Peake created a world where all is like a dream--lush, fantastical, and vivid. Yet it was incomplete. Parkinson¹s disease took Peake¹s life in 1968, depriving his fans of the fourth and final volume of the series, Titus Awakes except for a few tantalizing pages, after which his writing became indecipherable. Or so it seemed.

In January of 2010, Peake¹s granddaughter found four composition books in her attic. They contained the fabled Titus Awakes in its entirety. Peake had outlined the novel for his wife, Maeve Gilmore, who had at last finished Peake¹s masterpiece.

It starts with Titus leaving Castle Gormenghast. Peake wrote: ³With every pace he drew away from Gormenghast mountain, and from everything that belonged to his home. That night, as Titus lay asleep in the tall barn, a nightmare held him. ³

Fans of Peake will delight in this new, wonderful novel, published one hundred years after his birth, every bit as thrilling and masterfully written as his famed trilogy.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781590208700
Publisher: ABRAMS
Publication date: 07/07/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
File size: 601 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Maeve Gilmore (1918-1983) was a painter, sculptor, and writer. She married Mervyn Peake, author of the Gormenghast novels, in 1937. She is the author of A World Away, and the editor of Peake's Progress.
Mervyn Peake (1911-1968) wrote plays, painted, as well as being poet, illustrator, short-story writer, and designer of theatrical costumes, as well as a novelist. Among his many books are the Gormenghast novels, Titus Groan, Gormenghast, and Titus Alone.
Brian Sibley is the author of numerous books on animation and writers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Titus Awakes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
cedartree on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the Gormenghast novels and this was a little different. It is a more personal journey. I highly suggest reading the introduction. As it explains what you are really reading. Really this is Maeve Gilmore's working out of her grief and as such it is a deeply touching read. And one that I'm glad I read at this time.
cmolisani on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While I longed to return to the corridors of Gormenghast Castle in Titus Awakes this book was not written for me. Maeve lacks the same punch her husband gave in the first three books, though there are memorable characters these are no Steerpikes, Flays or Prunesquallors; but her passages describing what she and her husband went through during his illness were just as moving as anything Peake wrote. Though it was not the story I hoped to read it was still a wonderful read and it was nice to have some sort of closure for the wandering Titus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago