Time Without Consequence

Time Without Consequence

by Alexi MurdochAlexi Murdoch


$21.88 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.88, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


There's no sign of a letup in the parade of sensitive young men with designs on breaking listeners' hearts through song. But unlike a good many of his peers, Alexi Murdoch has more up his sleeve than just a bleeding heart -- namely a knack for crafting timeless melodies that have plenty of sheen but precious little syrupy stickiness. Murdoch has been compared to Nick Drake, largely because of the disconsolate murmur and handy acoustic fingerpicking he uses in delivering songs like "Orange Sky" and "All My Days." And while that's taking things a bit far, Murdoch does exude a similarly adrift, lost-soul persona, one that seems utterly free from self-consciousness. Yes, he has a tendency to pay homage to his influences -- which cover the troubadour spectrum, from John Martyn to Cat Stevens -- a bit more readily than he should, but not to the point where he could be mistaken for an open-mic wannabe. At their best -- as on the ethereal "Dream About Flying" -- Murdoch's songs carry a captivating sense of dislocation, a vibe that's contagious enough to keep listeners hanging onto his coattails as he flies off to the next emotional plateau.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/01/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 5037703087224
catalogNumber: 864898
Rank: 44527

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alexi Murdoch   Primary Artist,Organ,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Cymbals,Harmonium,Keyboards,Tambourine,Snare Drums,Slide Guitar
Marvin Etzioni   Mandolin
Jim Keltner   Drums
Sophie Barker   Background Vocals
Deron Johnson   fender rhodes
Greg Leisz   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar
Brett Simons   Bass,Electric Bass,Double Bass
Pete Thomas   Tom-Tom
Jay Bellerose   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine
Joel Shearer   Guitar,Background Vocals,Shaker
Ben Peeler   Lap Steel Guitar
Oliver Kraus   Cello
Chris Chaney   Bass
Ramy Antoun   Drums
Zac Rae   Keyboards,Vibes
Jason McKenzie   Tabla
Sgro   Drums,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Scott Gordon   Engineer
Joel Shearer   Engineer
David Boucher   Engineer
Jessica Shokrian   Cover Photo
Alexi Murdoch   Composer,Producer
Patricia Masterson   Engineer

Customer Reviews