Three Novels of New York: The House of Mirth, The Custom of the Country, The Age of Innocence(Classics Deluxe Edition)

Three Novels of New York: The House of Mirth, The Custom of the Country, The Age of Innocence(Classics Deluxe Edition)


$22.50 $25.00 Save 10% Current price is $22.5, Original price is $25. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, December 16


For the 150th anniversary of Edith Wharton's birth: her three greatest novels, in a couture-inspired deluxe edition featuring a new introduction by Jonathan Franzen

Born into a distinguished New York family, Edith Wharton chronicled the lives of the wealthy, the well born, and the nouveau riches in fiction that often hinges on the collision of personal passion and social convention. This volume brings together her best-loved novels, all set in New York.

The House of Mirth is the story of Lily Bart, who needs a rich husband but refuses to marry without both love and money. The Custom of the Country follows the marriages and affairs of Undine Spragg, who is as vain, spoiled, and selfish as she is irresistibly fascinating. The Pulitzer Prize-winning The Age of Innocence concerns the passionate bond that develops between the newly engaged Newland Archer and his finacée's cousin, the Countess Olenska, new to New York and newly divorced.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,800 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780143106555
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/29/2012
Series: Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition Series
Pages: 784
Sales rank: 220,835
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 9.10(h) x 2.20(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Edith Wharton (1862-1937) is the first woman to win the Pultizer Prize. She wrote more than forty books, among them Ethan Frome and Summer.

Jonathan Franzen is the author of the novels Freedom and The Corrections, which won the National Book Award.

Richard Gray is a fashion illustrator who has worked with Alexander McQueen, De Beers, and Givenchey.

Date of Birth:

January 24, 1862

Date of Death:

August 11, 1937

Place of Birth:

New York, New York

Place of Death:

Saint-Brice-sous-Forêt, France


Educated privately in New York and Europe

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Three Novels of New York 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
L_Gray More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful set of novels. Though the novels deal with similar themes and communities, I don't feel they are redundant. Edith Wharton writes the most accurate observations of human behavior I've ever read and her characters are vividly realistic as a result. She gives her female characters a great deal more complexity than most writers.  She also just uses language beautifully, especially in metaphor. The Custom of the Country is a lessor known work but holds up well against the other two.