This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Three Californias: The Wild Shore, The Gold Coast, and Pacific Edge

Three Californias: The Wild Shore, The Gold Coast, and Pacific Edge

by Kim Stanley Robinson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on February 4, 2020



Before Kim Stanley Robinson Robinson terraformed Mars, he wrote three science fiction novels set in Orange County, California, where he grew up. These alternate futures—one a post-apocalypse, one an if-this-goes-on future reminiscent of Philip K. Dick, and one an ecological utopia—form a whole that illuminates, enchants, and inspires.

What if ...there was a limited nuclear war that left the United States in blockaded, fragmented, the few survivors living in the ruins of a once-great nation?

What if…..this goes on, and technology continues to accelerate, and power continues to be consolidated into corporate culture, a developer’s dream world gone mad: an endless sprawl of condos, freeways, and malls, and designer drugs?

What if…..a revolution happens, and the US addresses climate change in a responsible way. Is a future green Utopia all that great when you’re young and in love?

With a new introduction by Francis Spufford, bestselling author of Golden Hill and Red Plenty.

“[Robinson] invites us to share his characters’ intensely personal, intensely local attachment to what they have. The result may shame you into entertaining new hope for the future.”

—The New York Times on Pacific Edge

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250307569
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 02/04/2020
Series: Three Californias
Pages: 896
Sales rank: 316,964
Product dimensions: 6.12(w) x 9.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

KIM STANLEY ROBINSON is the author of more than 20 books, including the international bestselling Mars trilogy: Red MarsGreen MarsBlue Mars, and more recently Red Moon, New York 2140, and 2312. In 2008 he was named a “Hero of the Environment” by Time magazine. He has won the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy awards. In 2016 he received the Heinlein Award for lifetime achievement in science fiction. In 2017 he was given the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Imagination in Service to Society.