Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Carter BurwellCarter Burwell


$16.61 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.61, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.


Perhaps most associated with a career-long partnership with the Coen Brothers that began with his and their first film, Blood Simple (1984), Carter Burwell had over two productive decades of film scoring under his belt before teaming up with director Martin McDonagh for 2008's In Bruges. They worked together again on McDonagh's Seven Psychopaths, and their third straight collaboration, 2017's Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, led to Academy Award nominations for both. Burwell's often playfully dramatic approach -- particularly evident in films like the Coens' everyman comedy-dramas ' would seem an effective one for Three Billboards, with its small-town setting and cast of persevering anti-heroes. That said, the majority of the score consists of languid atmosphere led by delicate, single-note lines that the composer revisits as part of his thematic scheme. Burwell used a spaghetti western-inspired palette for the film, one that features instruments like acoustic guitar, piano, handclaps, and gong in addition less prominent woodwinds and strings. Tracks like "Mildred Goes to War," "I've Been Arrested," and "Billboards on Fire" have a riled-up marching quality replete with stomping and clapping. In contrast are "The Deer," "Slippers," and others that alternate slow, spare, minor-key melodies between piano, acoustic guitar, and/or clarinet. They're backed by hushed, sustained strings and woodwinds. The soundtrack also features songs by Townes Van Zandt, Monsters of Folk, Joan Baez, and the Four Tops, with Amy Annelle reprising Van Zandt's "Buckskin Stallion Blues" to close the film. It's not one of Burwell's more ambitious scores, but it's one of his most organic ' in terms of sound, but even more so in its symbiosis with the film.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2017
Label: Varese Sarabande
UPC: 0030206753684
catalogNumber: 067536


  1. Mildred Goes to War
  2. The Deer
  3. Buckskin Stallion Blues
  4. A Cough of Blood. A Dark Drive
  5. I've Been Arrested
  6. Fruit Loops
  7. His Master's Voice
  8. Billboards on Fire
  9. Slippers
  10. The Last Rose of Summer
  11. My Dear Anne
  12. Walk Away Renee
  13. Billboards are Back
  14. Collecting Samples
  15. Sorry Welby
  16. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  17. Countermove
  18. Can't Give Up Hope
  19. Buckskin Stallion Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carter Burwell   Primary Artist,Conductor
Hugh Burns   Guitar
English Chamber Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
David Hartley   Piano
Paul Clarvis   Percussion
Adam Goldsmith   Mandolin
Nick Carpenter   Clarinet
Chris Lawrence   Bass (Vocal)

Technical Credits

Robbie Robertson   Composer
Friedrich von Flotow   Composer
Mike Brown   Composer
Carter Burwell   Composer,Producer,Orchestration
Michael Farrow   Engineer
Robert Townson   Executive Producer
Townes Van Zandt   Composer
Tony Sansone   Composer
Everton Nelson   Orchestra Leader
Dean Parker   Composer's Assistant
Monsters of Folk   Composer
Thomas Moore   Poetry
James Gibb   Executive Producer
Bob Calilli   Composer
Malek Adel   Business Consultant,Legal Advisor
Susie Gillis   Assistant Contractor

Customer Reviews