This Is Who I Am [Japan Bonus Tracks]

This Is Who I Am [Japan Bonus Tracks]

by Heather HeadleyHeather Headley

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$32.81 $33.99 Save 3% Current price is $32.81, Original price is $33.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions


Broadway diva Heather Headley left her Tony Award–winning stint as the lead in Elton John's pop-rock version of the grand opera Aida to pursue a recording career. The result is This Is Who I Am, a sophisticated blend of gospel-inspired R&B, India.Arie–esque neo-soul, and pop produced by über-producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis (Janet Jackson), Shep Crawford (Yolanda Adams), and Dallas Austin (TLC). The recurring theme of This Is Who I Am is love, and Headley engagingly sings about romance's joys (the homage to good men "He Is") and pains (the kick-that-triflin'-man-to-the-curb mid-tempo jam "Fulltime"). Each track showcases a different facet of the dynamic singer's persona and the versatility of her rich, stage-honed, honey-coated vocals. Headley's star has shone brightest on Broadway, and indeed, her flair for the dramatic helps to infuse this set of 12 songs with excitement. From the quietly stirring Jam and Lewis–produced ballad "I Wish I Wasn't" to the sassy, Austin-produced blues-stomp "Like Ya Use To" to Crawford's Toni Braxton–reminiscent power ballad "Always Been Your Girl," the splendid This Is Who I Am heralds Headley's arrival as a new R&B and pop sensation.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/15/2003
Label: Japanese Import
UPC: 4988017613535
catalogNumber: 24020

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Heather Headley   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Rob Mounsey   Piano
Shanice   Background Vocals
Dallas Austin   Guitar
Jimmy Jam   Multi Instruments
Terry Lewis   Multi Instruments
Richard Locker   Cello
Audrey Martells   Background Vocals
Jeff Mironov   Guitar
Renee Neufville   Background Vocals
Mike Scott   Guitar
V. Jeffrey Smith   Multi Instruments
Chukki Starr   Rap
Reed Vertelney   Keyboards
Shelley Woodworth   Oboe
Deborah Cox   Background Vocals
Francesco Romano   Guitar
Terence Elliott   Guitar
Tomi Martin   Guitar
Michael Norfleet   Keyboards
Sylvia Bennett-Smith   Keyboards
Jeremy Ruzumna   Hammond Organ
James "Big Jim" Wright   Keyboards
Big Bob   Multi Instruments
Kwame Kwaten   Keyboards
Steve Marston   Percussion
Ed Baden-Powell   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Steve Mostyn   Bass
Vanessa A. Jones   Background Vocals
Antone "Chooky" Caldwell   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Rob Mounsey   Arranger,Producer
D'Influence   Producer
Dallas Austin   Engineer
Steve Ferrera   Producer,Executive Producer
Steve Hodge   Engineer
Jimmy Jam   Arranger,Producer
Terry Lewis   Arranger,Producer
Rick Sheppard   Engineer,MIDI,Sound Design
V. Jeffrey Smith   Programming,Engineer
Lascelles Stephens   Vocal Arrangements
Reed Vertelney   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Andy Zulla   Engineer
Deborah Cox   Vocal Arrangements
Mike Ging   Engineer
Carlton Lynn   Engineer
Sylvia Bennett-Smith   Arranger,Producer
Brett Kilroe   Art Direction
Adam Kagan   Engineer
Vada Nobles   Producer
Shep Crawford   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Dave Way   Producer
Big Bob   Producer
Christine Sirois   Engineer
Ed Baden-Powell   Engineer,drum programming
James Muller   Engineer
Wayne Allison   Engineer
Tim LeBlanc   Engineer
Hans Leibert   Engineer

Customer Reviews