This Is Where the Happy People Go: The Best of the Trammps

This Is Where the Happy People Go: The Best of the Trammps

by The TrammpsThe Trammps


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Due to all the great funk, R&B, and soul bands of the '70s, it's easy to overlook many of the lesser-known (but just as great) bands. Such is the case with the Trammps. Best known for their smash hit from the Saturday Night Fever Soundtrack, "Disco Inferno" (their only Top 20 appearance on the pop charts), the group had many other hits on the R&B charts, which were just as deserving of crossover success. Just about any track from the excellent This Is Where All the Happy People Go: The Best of the Trammps compilation is a solid example of '70s R&B at its finest and most expertly crafted. Many overlooked and forgotten gems reside here, such as "Hold Back the Night," "Trammps Disco Theme," "That's Where the Happy People Go," and "Zing Went the Strings of My Heart." Admittedly, the Trammps did seem to jump on the disco bandwagon, like so many other bands from this era, but the quality of the music never suffered. For a representation of some of the '70s most underrated dance music, The Best of the Trammps simply can't be beat.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/16/1994
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227172428
catalogNumber: 71724
Rank: 31685

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Trammps   Primary Artist
Jimmy Ellis   Vocals
Carla Benson   Background Vocals
Keith Errol Benson   Drums
Evette Benton   Background Vocals
T.G. Conway   Synthesizer,Keyboards,keyboard bass
Robert Cupit   Conga
Eugene Lambchops Curry   Keyboards
Don Renaldo   Strings,Horn,Band
Bobby Eli   Acoustic Guitar
Mikki Farrow   Tambourine
Allan Felder   Tambourine
Michael Foreman   Bass
Bruce Gary   Piano,Keyboards
Bruce Gray   Piano,Keyboards
Dennis Harris   Acoustic Guitar
Norman Harris   Acoustic Guitar
Reubin Henderson   Horn
Barbara Ingram   Background Vocals
Fred Jointer   Trombone
Carlton "Cotton" Kent   Keyboards
Ron Kersey   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Maurice Spears   Horn
Roger Stevens   Trumpet
T.J. Tindall   Acoustic Guitar
Ron Tyson   Tambourine
Robert Upchurch   Vocals,Baritone (Vocal)
Harold Wade   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Stanley Wade   Bass,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Larry Washington   Conga
Harold Watkins   Horn
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica
Earl Young   Bass (Vocal),Drums,Vocals
Paul Schorr   Strings
James Walker   Percussion
Cotton Kent   Keyboards
Ron Baker   Bass
Keith Benson   Drums
Jillean Williams   Bass
Jimmy Williams   Bass
Michael Thompson   Drums
John Davis   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
John Hart   Organ,Vocals
Arthur Williams   Horn

Technical Credits

William Inglott   Producer
Ronald Baker   Composer
T.G. Conway   Arranger,Producer
Charles Ellerbee   Contributor
Bruce Gary   Producer
Bruce Gray   Composer
Norman Harris   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Ron Kersey   Producer
Earl Young   Producer
Ron Baker   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Janine Coveney McAdams   Liner Notes
Jimmy Hendricks   Composer
James Hanley   Composer

Customer Reviews