This Is Jazz, Vol. 11

This Is Jazz, Vol. 11

by Count Basie


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18


You can tell how badly Columbia Records has bolixed up their Count Basie catalog -- in contrast to Decca/MCA -- by looking at the credits for this well-intended 17-song compilation. All but one track here (a Basie/Ellington pair-up from the early '60s on "Jumpin' at the Woodside") also appears on several other Basie collections (The Essential Count Basie Vols. 1-3, among others), but none of it appears to have been upgraded in sound quality in any major way from those late-'80s and early-'90s releases. The condition of some of the tracks, such as the noise on "Lester Leaps In," may also explain why Columbia hasn't done a definitive early-Basie collection in the manner of MCA with its Decca and Brunswick sides -- they may not have sufficiently high-grade sources available for such a box. Otherwise, the sound here is passable; it ought to jump out at you, the way it would with 20-bit remastering, but it doesn't, and the volume is low by modern standards. And the selection is close to first-rate for a mid-length mid-priced disc, containing some of the key touchstones ("Lady Be Good," "One O'Clock Jump," "Lester Leaps In," "Broadway," etc.) of Basie's Columbia history, with a couple of vocal numbers ("Goin' to Chicago Blues," "How Long How Long Blues") featuring Jimmy Rushing. But all this does is increase the exposure of Basie's best work for the label and the need for a box.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/1996
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646496626
catalogNumber: 64966
Rank: 229313

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Count Basie   Primary Artist,Piano
Paul Bascomb   Tenor Saxophone
Buck Clayton   Trumpet
Harry Edison   Trumpet
Freddie Green   Guitar
Johnny Hodges   Alto Saxophone
Budd Johnson   Tenor Saxophone
Jo Jones   Drums
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Marshall Royal   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Rushing   Vocals
Tab Smith   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Buddy Tate   Tenor Saxophone
Lucky Thompson   Tenor Saxophone
Lester Young   Tenor Saxophone
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Russell Procope   Alto Saxophone
Quentin Jackson   Trombone
Walter Page   Bass
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Shad Collins   Trumpet
Vic Dickenson   Trombone
Frank Foster   Tenor Saxophone
Jimmy Hamilton   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Dan Minor   Trombone
Benny Powell   Trombone
Jimmy Powell   Alto Saxophone
Eli Robinson   Trombone
Rudy Rutherford   Baritone Saxophone
Louis Taylor   Trombone
Juan Tizol   Valve Trombone
Earle Warren   Alto Saxophone
Jack Washington   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Shadow Wilson   Drums
Stearns   Trumpet
Bill Scott   Trombone
Eddie Jones   Bass
Ed Lewis   Trumpet
Sylvester Payne   Drums

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Count Basie   Composer
Buck Clayton   Composer
Harry Edison   Composer
Bennie Moten   Composer
Tab Smith   Arranger
Lester Young   Composer
Jimmy Mundy   Arranger
Steven Berkowitz   Reissue Producer
Billy Bird   Composer
Shad Collins   Composer
Eddie Durham   Arranger
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Kevin Gore   Reissue Producer
Ray Henderson   Composer
James Isaacs   Contributor,Liner Notes
Skip Martin   Composer
Teddy McRae   Composer
Buster Moten   Composer
Frank Wess   Arranger
J. Mayo Williams   Composer
Cozbi Sanchez-Cabrera   Art Direction
Henri Woode   Arranger
Buster Harding   Arranger
Henry J. Wood   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews