This Is Clarence Carter/The Dynamic Clarence Carter

This Is Clarence Carter/The Dynamic Clarence Carter

by Clarence CarterClarence Carter


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.


Kent's 2016 CD combines Clarence Carter's first two albums for Atlantic -- his 1968 debut This Is Clarence Carter and its 1969 sequel The Dynamic Clarence Carter -- and adds five bonus tracks, all recorded between 1966-1967: "I'm Happy-Go-Lucky," "She Ain't Gonna Do Right," "Take Me, Use Me," "There Won't Be Another Sunset," "I'll Be Over After a While." Carter started having hits quickly, when "Slip Away" -- the single that doesn't appear until the second side of This Is Clarence Carter -- turned into a Top Ten crossover hit, but the 1968 debut makes no overt play for a pop audience, not even when it opens up with a Jimmy Webb tune. It's deep Southern soul through and through, alternating between originals by Carter and tunes by Spooner Oldham and Dan Penn -- an excellent songbook delivered with punch and panache by the FAME crew, all elements that make this one of the finest deep soul albums of the late '60s. The Dynamic Clarence Carter contains a couple of feints toward that crossover audience "Slip Away" brought the singer/songwriter. He covers the Doors' "Light My Fire," Tom T. Hall's "Harper Valley PTA," and Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil's "You've Been a Long Time Coming," enough pop material to give this a slightly slicker vibe, but it's still a strong soul album anchored by the funky "Steal Away," a cover of Etta James' "I'd Rather Go Blind," and the bright, snappy "Too Weak to Fight," the biggest hit on this record. Both records are prime Carter -- arguably the two best LPs he made -- and the bonus tracks are of a similarly high grade, making this an excellent disc for serious soul fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/05/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667244428
catalogNumber: 5082444

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clarence Carter   Primary Artist,Guitar
Duane Allman   Guitar
Joe Arnold   Tenor Saxophone
Barry Beckett   Organ,Piano
Charles Chalmers   Tenor Saxophone
Roger Hawkins   Drums
David Hood   Bass
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet
James Johnson   Guitar
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar
Andrew Love   Tenor Saxophone
Albert Lowe   Guitar
Gene Miller   Trumpet
James Mitchell   Baritone Saxophone
Floyd Newman   Baritone Saxophone
Linden Oldham   Piano
Marvell Thomas   Organ
Aaron Varnell   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Etta James   Composer
Tom T. Hall   Composer
Clarence Carter   Composer
Jimmy Hughes   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Clay Hammond   Composer
Jim Morrison   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Ray Manzarek   Composer
Jimmy Webb   Composer
John Densmore   Composer
George Jackson   Composer
Dan Penn   Composer
Charles Chalmers   Composer
Marcus Daniel   Composer
William S. Fischer   String Arrangements
Rick Hall   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
John Keyes   Composer
Spooner Oldham   Composer
Donna Rhodes   Composer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Quin Ivy   Composer
William Armstrong   Composer
Dean Rudland   Liner Notes
Loring Eutemey   Cover Design
Ted Williams   Liner Notes
Melvin Leakes   Composer
Rolf Soja   Composer
Larry Chambers   Composer
Joe Wilson   Composer
Wilbur Terrell   Composer
Raymond Moore   Composer
Ellington Jordan   Composer
Peter Zentner   Composer
Robby Krieger   Composer
Claude Putnam   Composer
Jere Cunningham   Cover Photo
Osbie Burnett McClinton   Composer
Don Covay   Composer
David Patterson   Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews