Thirty One

Thirty One

by Jana KramerJana Kramer


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Swiping a page from the Book of Adele, Jana Kramer calls her second album Thirty One, an allusion to her age at the time of its creation, but this 2015 album doesn't sound a thing like the work of a neo-soul diva. No, Thirty One plays like a Miranda Lambert tribute, with Kramer swapping out the overly manicured, polite country-pop of her eponymous 2012 debut for a swaggering rebel yell. She's a self-styled spitfire, warning troublemakers not to touch her radio and getting ready to pop a bottle of beer, strutting her stuff alongside Steven Tyler, the latest rocker to relocate to Nashville. Kramer is also a transplant to the Music City -- the native of Rochester, Michigan arrived there by way of Hollywood -- and while there isn't much twang in her voice, there is a fair amount of determination, which is a key ingredient for making the better Lambert-alikes work: "Boomerang" stomps hard, and if "Don't Touch My Radio" feels somewhat forced, its hook nevertheless lands. Still, the moments that really click on Thirty One are the numbers that are softer and sweeter, songs where she's either gliding along with a ballad, easing into well-polished crossover adult contemporary ("I Got the Boy," co-written by Jamie Lynn Spears) or, better still, indulging in a spot of unabashed bubblegum ("Said No One Ever," which would feel at home on Radio Disney). None of these tunes support Kramer's Thirty One narrative of how she's now a tough redneck woman, but they do show how she can turn out pleasing country-pop whenever she lets down her guard.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2015
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624926917
catalogNumber: 549779
Rank: 101837

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jana Kramer   Primary Artist
Shannon Forrest   Percussion,Drums
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
Gordon Mote   Piano,Hammond B3
Steven Tyler   Background Vocals
Derek Wells   Electric Guitar
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar
Troy Lancaster   Electric Guitar
Carolyn Dawn Johnson   Background Vocals
Catt Gravitt   Background Vocals
Jimmie Sloas   Bass
Charlie Judge   Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond B3
Brent Anderson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin
Nir "Z" Zidkyahu   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Jeff Balding   Engineer
Marti Frederiksen   Composer
Connie Harrington   Composer
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Scott Hendricks   Producer,Engineer
Michael Hughes   Composer
Tim Nichols   Composer
Jeffrey Steele   Composer
Blair Daly   Composer
Carolyn Dawn Johnson   Engineer
Brian Kierulf   Composer
Katherine Petillo   Art Direction
Catt Gravitt   Composer
Chad Carlson   Composer
Alyssa Bonagura   Composer
Jimmy Robbins   Composer
Aaron Scherz   Composer
Busbee   Composer
Phil Barton   Composer
Emily Shackleton   Composer
Brandon Hood   Composer
Jana Kramer   Composer
Lindsay Rimes   Composer
Nicolle Galyon   Composer
Jamie Lynn Spears   Composer
Maddie Marlow   Composer
Taylor Dye   Composer

Customer Reviews