Things Fall Apart

Things Fall Apart

by The RootsThe Roots

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$33.24 $34.99 Save 5% Current price is $33.24, Original price is $34.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Like its literary namesake (the novel written by Nigerian Nobel Prize winner Chinua Achebe), Things Fall Apart examines the colonial mind-set as manifested in the modern African-American experience. With unfussy yet precise production, irresistible beats, and smooth rhymes (provided predominantly by lead MC Black Thought), the Roots stroll through the 'hood, pointing out paradoxes and political realities ("Act Won," "Double Trouble"), without losing sight of love ("You Got Me," featuring Erykah Badu), or missing an opportunity to party ("The Next Movement"). Few albums manage to simultaneously be this informative, political, and downright groovy. From "Step into the Realm" to the closing strains of "Return to Innocence Lost," the Roots never stray from their mission to enlighten as well as to entertain.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2013
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0008811194819
catalogNumber: 211948
Rank: 17494


Disc 1

  1. Act Won (Things Fall Apart)
  2. Table of Contents, Pts. 1 & 2
  3. The Next Movement
  4. Step Into the Relm
  5. The Spark
  6. Dynamite!
  7. Without a Doubt
  8. Ain't Sayin' Nothin' New
  9. Double Trouble

Disc 2

  1. Act Too (The Love of My Life)
  2. 100% Dundee
  3. Diedre Vs. Dice
  4. Adrenaline!
  5. 3rd Acts: ? Vs. Scratch 2...Electric Boogaloo
  6. You Got Me
  7. Don't See Us
  8. The Return to Innocence Lost
  9. Non-Musical Silence/Act Fore...the End?/Non-Musical Silence

Album Credits

Customer Reviews