Things Can Only Get Better

Things Can Only Get Better

by David M. Barnett

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 28

Overview

*FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CALLING MAJOR TOM*

'I loved it!' - Joanne Harris, Sunday Times bestselling author of Chocolat

'I loved it. Nostalgic without being saccharine, hopeful, real characters with edge. A brilliant book.' - Hayley Webster

'I adored it! Truly uplifting. Exactly what people want and need to read right now.' - Daisy Buchanan

For elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there's no place like home. His home just so happens to be a graveyard.

He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat. When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife - and has left flowers on her grave - he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why. He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls as he searches for answers, and soon learns that there is more to life than being surrounded by death.

Set during the 90s, when we were all just common people believing things could only get better, this is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community.

For readers who enjoy Sue Townsend, Ruth Hogan and Joanna Cannon.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781409185161
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Publication date: 03/23/2021
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 5.12(w) x 7.80(h) x 0.87(d)

About the Author

David Barnett is an author and journalist based in West Yorkshire. After a career working for regional newspapers he embarked upon a freelance career writing features for most of the UK national press. He is the author of the critically-acclaimed Gideon Smith series of Victorian fantasies, published by Tor Books, and the writer of the Punks Not Dead comic series from Black Crown/IDW. David was born in Wigan, Lancashire, in 1970 and is married to Claire, also a journalist. They have two children, Charlie and Alice.

Customer Reviews