Theme Time Radio Hour: With Your Host Bob Dylan

Theme Time Radio Hour: With Your Host Bob Dylan


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


That Bob Dylan -- is there anything he can't do? After distinguishing himself as a songwriter, recording artist, concert attraction, author, filmmaker, and actor, Dylan added "disc jockey" to his résumé in 2006 when he began hosting Theme Time Radio Hour on XM Satellite Radio. Dylan's show quickly gained a passionate following, as much for Dylan's witty and insightful commentary about music as for the rich variety of tunes he unearthed for his broadcasts, dating from the '30s to the present day and representing a startling array of styles and genres. Given that Dylan is one of the most bootlegged performers of the rock era, it was all but inevitable that pirate discs of Dylan's radio shows would start circulating, but Dylan, his radio producer Eddie Gorodetsky, and the folks at Ace Records have offered fans an authorized alternative with this two-disc set containing 50 songs that have appeared on Theme Time Radio Hour. Unfortunately, Dylan himself is largely absent from this album; his introductions and between-song patter don't make the cut, and his astute commentary hasn't been included in the accompanying 48-page booklet, though each song does merit a well-written paragraph focusing on the tune, its artist, and its background. Also, while each episode of Dylan's radio show focuses on a different topic -- "Luck," "Drink," "Flowers," "Jail," "Mother," and the like -- this set doesn't attempt to follow such a thematic continuity, instead pulling random songs from various broadcasts, though at least listeners are informed which episode featured what song. Still, this set leaves no doubt that Bob Dylan knows a great song when he hears one, and there are 50 thoroughly enjoyable and often rare recordings collected on the Theme Time Radio Hour album. Dylan's knowledge and appreciation of popular music is deep, and there are wonderfully idiosyncratic examples of jazz (Charles Mingus' "Eat That Chicken"), rhythm & blues ("Buddy, Stay Off the Wine" by Betty Hall Jones), country (Eddie Noack's "Take It Away Lucky"), soul (an amazing alternate take of Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools"), pop ("Black Coffee" performed by Bobby Darin), reggae ("Gun Fever" by the Valentines), rock ("Bottle and a Bible" by the Yayhoos), and a few destinations that defy convenient categorization ("Beatnik's Wish" by Patsy Raye & the Beatniks). This only scratches the surface of what's to be found in this set, just as Theme Time Radio Hour only offers a relatively brief overview of what Dylan has uncovered for his radio audience, but what's here is all fine and fascinating stuff, and with any luck this will be the first of several albums devoted to the cream of Bob Dylan's record collection and the riches to be found within.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/26/2008
Label: Ace Records Uk
UPC: 0029667032230
catalogNumber: 1202
Rank: 46577

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
Ralph Stanley   Composer
Merle Haggard   Composer
Alton Ellis   Composer
Jerry Butler   Composer
Jonathan Richman   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Joe South   Composer
Joe Strummer   Composer
Charles Mingus   Composer
Onie Wheeler   Composer
Dave Bartholomew   Composer
Donnie Fritts   Composer
Eddie Noack   Composer
Geraint Watkins   Composer
Earl Grant   Composer
Terry Anderson   Composer
Roger Armstrong   Producer
Calvin Carter   Composer
Peter Chatman   Composer
Ervin Drake   Composer
Eddie Gorodetsky   Producer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Winston Jarrett   Composer
Leroy Kirkland   Composer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
Roy Montrell   Composer
Fred Norman   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Charlie Poole   Composer
Jeff Rosen   Producer
Otis Rush   Composer
Paul Simonon   Composer
Sister Rosetta Tharpe   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Dorinda Morgan   Composer
Albert E. Brumley   Composer
Russell Sims   Composer
Gavin Martin   Liner Notes
Willy Ackerman   Composer
Jules Taub   Composer
Dan Fisher   Composer
Irene Higginbotham   Composer
Pearl King   Composer
Morgan Lewis   Composer
John Marascalco   Composer
Frank Perkins   Composer
Dorothy LaBostrie   Composer
Drew Baker   Composer
Mary Gauthier   Composer
Coco Shinomiva   Logo Design
Crit Harmon   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Paul Chaplain   Arranger
Bruce Culver   Composer
Roy Carroll   Composer
Don Covay   Composer

Customer Reviews