The Whole Hole Story

The Whole Hole Story

Hardcover

$15.99 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

In Vivian McInerny’s playful debut, readers will fall in love with wonder again as Zia imagines what might happen if the hole in her pocket became big enough to fall right through. The Whole Hole Story is perfect for readers looking for a fresh take on the classic Harold and the Purple Crayon.

Zia is used to the hole in her pocket—she frequently fills it with frogs and other objects. And as it gets bigger and bigger, she starts to wonder what might happen . . . if she fell right through. Would she cover it with a blanket to catch an elephant, or dig a tunnel to the other side of the world? The possibilities are endless, and readers will love following Zia’s adventurous imagination from beginning to end. 

With hilarious wordplay paired with Ken Lamug’s bright and colorful illustrations, The Whole Hole Story will appeal to kids’ divine sense of silliness. Perfect for fans of Du Iz Tak?, and They All Saw a Cat.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

★ "McInerny’s debut picture book bounces along with the changing waves of a child’s fantasies.... [with] a clever, satisfying end and a twist that is sure to put a grin on savvy listeners’ faces. This is sure to be a storytime favorite with audiences, and they’ll clamor for McInerny’s next outing."–Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED review

"This charmer of a picture book takes an Alice in Wonderland approach to a young girl’s discovery of a hole...A vivacious tribute to creative thinking and play."–Booklist

"Engaging illustrations set bright, cartoon characters against largely pastel backgrounds. The self-made adventure is reminiscent of Harold and the Purple Crayon with its unpredictable, child-controlled narrative in which imagination takes one around the world and back home again....An adventure worth sharing." –Kirkus

"Debut author McInerny [strikes] a genial, why-the-heck-not tone....Lamug (Petro and the Flea King) portrays Zia as a perpetual motion machine....With a charismatic protagonist like this, it’s a safe bet that this story probably won’t be the last." –Publishers Weekly

Kirkus Reviews

2020-10-13
A child creates adventures with a marvelous, mind-bending hole.

It begins as a hole in Zia’s pocket. As the hole grows bigger and bigger, it falls to the ground. One day, Zia falls through the hole, but since it is “an imaginary hole,” Zia isn’t scared. Zia sits at the bottom of the hole and considers what to do. She decides to make a fishing hole, and then a swimming hole, and then a watering hole, and then a hole to the other side of the Earth. Throughout her adventures, she encounters friendly animals and handy playthings, and she stays in control of events to the very end. Zia is a brave, adventurous Black girl with afro puffs and bright red overalls, and she always knows what she needs and how to get it. The story goes on at some length, but the absurdity remains entertaining as the scenes change, and the ending is surprisingly satisfying. Engaging illustrations set bright, cartoon characters against largely pastel backgrounds. The self-made adventure is reminiscent of Harold and the Purple Crayon with its unpredictable, child-controlled narrative in which imagination takes one around the world and back home again. Readers who have afro puffs themselves may give the side-eye to the line “She fell so fast, her hair fell up,” but otherwise the tale succeeds nicely.

An adventure worth sharing. (Picture book. 3-8)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780358128816
Publisher: HMH Books
Publication date: 01/12/2021
Pages: 40
Sales rank: 109,513
Product dimensions: 10.20(w) x 10.10(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 4 - 7 Years

Customer Reviews