The White Bird: A Blue Story

The White Bird: A Blue Story

by Kirk Watson, Denis Diderot

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Fans of 'The Arabian Nights' or Crebillon's 'The Divan' will love Diderot's novella 'The White Bird: A Blue Story': this is a mock-epic, a satire on popular fiction, an allegory and a pleasant afternoon's read. Listen in with Sultana as her storytellers ease her to sleep with seven tales of Genistan, the Prince of Japan (while in the form of a dove, by a genie's enchantment) as he follows his heart and his pecker from one country to another, seducing virgins, escaping convents, fleeing evil genies, and searching for the elusive kingdom of a fairy named Truth.

This is the first-ever English translation of a little-known book written by the inimitable mastermind of the French Enlightenment, Denis Diderot.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157825577
Publisher: Kirk Watson
Publication date: 01/27/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 187 KB

Customer Reviews