The Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983

The Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983

by The Doobie BrothersThe Doobie Brothers



This expansive box set from Rhino features all nine of the Doobie Brothers' studio albums from their original 1970s Warner Bros. run plus their 1983 Farewell Tour live album. Beginning with their 1971 self-titled debut, when the band was fronted by founding singer/guitarist Tom Johnston, through 1980's Michael McDonald-led One Step Closer, it covers their two major eras as they slowly shifted from boogie rock bar band into the soulful soft rock giants of their later years. Hits like "China Grove," "Black Water," "Takin' It to the Streets," and "What a Fool Believes" are all here as well as their first live album, which mostly features their late-period lineup with the addition of a couple of special Johnston appearances that serve as an end cap to their career. Although the Doobies would reunite again in the late '80s, their original Warner Bros. years remain their best-known period.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2015
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227954352
catalogNumber: 549787


Disc 1

  1. Nobody
  2. Slippery St. Paul
  3. Greenwood Creek
  4. It Won't Be Right
  5. Travelin' Man
  6. Feelin' Down Farther
  7. The Master
  8. Growin' a Little Each Day
  9. Beehive State
  10. Closer Every Day
  11. Chicago

Disc 2

  1. Listen to the Music
  2. Rockin' Down The Highway
  3. Mamaloi
  4. Toulouse Street
  5. Cotton Mouth
  6. Don't Start Me to Talkin'
  7. Jesus Is Just Alright
  8. White Sun
  9. Disciple
  10. Snake Man

Disc 3

  1. Natural Thing
  2. Long Train Runnin'
  3. China Grove
  4. Dark Eyed Cajun Woman
  5. Clear as the Driven Snow
  6. Without You
  7. South City Midnight Lady
  8. Evil Woman
  9. Busted Down Around O'Connelly Corners
  10. Ukiah
  11. The Captain and Me

Disc 4

  1. Song to See You Through
  2. Spirit
  3. Pursuit on 53rd Street
  4. Black Water
  5. Eyes of Silver
  6. Road Angel
  7. You Just Can't Stop It
  8. Tell Me What You Want (And I'll Give You What You Need)
  9. Down in the Track
  10. Another Park, Another Sunday
  11. Daughters of the Sea
  12. Flying Cloud

Disc 5

  1. Sweet Maxine
  2. Neal's Fandango
  3. Texas Lullaby
  4. Music Man
  5. Slack Key Soquel Rag
  6. Take Me in Your Arms
  7. I Cheat the Hangman
  8. Précis
  9. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues
  10. I Been Workin' on You
  11. Double Dealin' Four Flusher

Disc 6

  1. Wheels of Fortune
  2. Takin' It to the Streets
  3. 8th Avenue Shuffle
  4. Losin' End
  5. Rio
  6. For Someone Special
  7. It Keeps You Runnin'
  8. Turn It Loose
  9. Carry Me Away

Disc 7

  1. You're Made That Way
  2. Echoes of Love
  3. Little Darling (I Need You)
  4. You Belong to Me
  5. Livin' on the Fault Line
  6. Nothin' But a Heartache
  7. Chinatown
  8. There's a Light
  9. Need a Lady
  10. Larry the Logger Two-Step

Disc 8

  1. Here to Love You
  2. What a Fool Believes
  3. Minute by Minute
  4. Dependin' on You
  5. Don't Stop to Watch the Wheels
  6. Open Your Eyes
  7. Sweet Feelin'
  8. Steamer Lane Breakdown
  9. You Never Change
  10. How Do the Fools Survive

Disc 9

  1. Dedicate This Heart
  2. Real Love
  3. No Stoppin' Us Now
  4. Thank You Love
  5. One Step Closer
  6. Keep This Train A-Rollin'
  7. Just in Time
  8. South Bay Strut
  9. One by One

Disc 10

  1. Slippery St. Paul
  2. Takin' It to the Streets
  3. Jesus Is Just Alright
  4. Minute by Minute
  5. Can't Let It Get Away
  6. Listen to the Music
  7. Echoes of Love
  8. What a Fool Believes
  9. Black Water
  10. You Belong to Me
  11. Slack Key Soquel Rag
  12. Steamer Lane
  13. Breakdown
  14. South City Midnight Lady
  15. Olana
  16. Don't Start Me to Talkin'
  17. Long Train Runnin'
  18. China Grove

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doobie Brothers   Primary Artist
Arlo Guthrie   Autoharp
Michael McDonald   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Victor Feldman   Vibes
Chet McCracken   Drums,Marimbas,Vibes
Maria Muldaur   Vocals
James Booker   Piano
Norton Buffalo   Harmonica
Cornelius Bumpus   Organ,Synthesizer,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Tom Johnston   Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Harp,Vocals,Group Member
Nicolette Larson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Little John   Drums
Patrick Simmons   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Lester Abrams   Electric Piano
Jeff Baxter   Guitar
Byron Berline   Fiddle
Jesse Butler   Organ
Rosemary Butler   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ben Cauley   Trumpet
Lewis Collins   Group Member
Eddie Guzman   Conga,Timbales
Jack Hale   Group Member
Richie Hayward   Drums
Milt Holland   Marimbas,Tabla,Pandeiro
Michael Hossack   Conga,Drums,Timbales,Group Member
Wayne Jackson   Group Member
Keith Knudsen   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Bobby LaKind   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Vocals
Andrew Love   Saxophone,Group Member
Maureen McDonald   Background Vocals
John McFee   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Violin,Vocals
Sumner Mering   Synthesizer,Guitar
Bill Payne   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Tiran Porter   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Dave Shogren   Organ,Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Ted Templeman   Maracas,Tambourine,cowbell
Lee Thornburg   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Willie Weeks   Bass,Vocals
Bill Armstrong   Trumpet
John Hartman   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Christopher Thompson   Background Vocals
Patrick Henderson   Keyboards
Jeff "Skunk" Baxter   Group Member
Herb Pederson   Banjo
Jerome Jumonville   Tenor Saxophone
David Bowers   Guitar,Violin
Joel Perkin   Baritone Saxophone
Jiran Porter   Bass,Vocals

Technical Credits

Carlene Carter   Composer
Paul Anka   Composer
Kenny Loggins   Composer
Michael McDonald   Composer
Randy Newman   Composer
Chet McCracken   Composer
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Cornelius Bumpus   Composer
Tom Johnston   Composer
Patrick Simmons   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Lester Abrams   Composer
Jeff Baxter   Composer
Dash Crofts   Composer
Nick DeCaro   String Arrangements
David Gest   Publicity
Jimmie Haskell   String Arrangements
Lee Herschberg   Engineer
Wayne Jackson   Horn Arrangements
Keith Knudsen   Composer
Bobby LaKind   Composer
Donn Landee   Engineer
Andrew Love   Horn Arrangements
John McFee   Composer
Tiran Porter   Composer
Bruce Steinberg   Cover Photo
Ted Templeman   Composer,Producer
Jim Welch   Art Direction
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Composer
Greg Winter   Drum Technician
David Patch   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
John Hartman   Composer
Ed Thrasher   Art Direction
Jay Vigon   Art Direction
Loyd Clifft   Engineer
Mike Zagaris   Sleeve Photo
Chas Barbour   Art Direction
Mike Kelley   Monitor Mixer
Christopher Thompson   Composer
James Seals   Composer
Martin Wolff   Lighting Director
A. Reynolds   Composer
Michael Ebert   Composer
Jim Isaacson   Engineer
Patrick Henderson   Composer
Bruce Cohn   Management,Personal Manager
Jerome Jumonville   Horn Arrangements
Jeff Mills   Tour Manager
Joe Crowley   Tour Manager

Customer Reviews