The War Against Boredom: Short Stores, Riffs, Insanities

The War Against Boredom: Short Stores, Riffs, Insanities

by Seth Kaufman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"Great fun!."--Ben Schott, author of Schott's Original Miscellany

"Sharp satire with a poetic heart"--The B&N Review

Written by newyorker.com humor contributor Seth Kaufman, The War Against Boredom is a hilarious assault on the mind-numbing effects of the modern world. Reverse-engineering obsessions with Big Data, the Internet, movies, coffee shops, pot, spying, rock stars, relationships and sex scandals, Kaufman morphs reality into comedy with 21 short stories and satirical columns. It's a must-read for fans of The Onion and Kaufman's acclaimed novels The King of Pain and Nuns with Guns.

Notable skirmishes in The War Against Boredom:
• A husband hires a business consultant to help improve his marriage.
• An assistant engineer recalls working with Michael Jackson, Freddie Mercury and a llama.
• An insurance actuary becomes a star by decoding the odds for the Academy Awards.
• A caustic National Security Administration advice columnist answers questions and exposes employees.
• Cheech and Chong reunite over a golden hookah.
• A techie conducts an old school search for love in the intriguing "Segway in Overdrive."

Editorial Reviews

Ben Schott

"Great fun!"--Ben Schott, author of Schott's Original Miscellany

Book Blurb - Ben Schott

"Great fun! An engaging collection in the finest tradition of Douglas Coupland and Timothy McSweeney".--Ben Schott, author of Schott's Original Miscellany

Bill Tipper

"Sharp satire with a poetic heart"--The B&N Review

Karl Wolff

"Seth Kaufman's War Against Boredom is a great antidote to this Kardashianized landscape of selfie-sticks, ISIS attacks, and billionaire presidential wannabes. With lacerating satire, these short stories, riffs, and other insanities will make you laugh. Only our hashtags and Instagram pics can save us now." -- Karl Wolff, The Driftless Area Review

Product Details

BN ID: 2940151618014
Publisher: Sukuma Books
Publication date: 05/03/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 105
File size: 2 MB

Customer Reviews