The Walking Dead, Vol. 1

The Walking Dead, Vol. 1


$9.47 $11.99 Save 21% Current price is $9.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 21%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The first collection of music from AMC's zombie drama The Walking Dead arrived nearly three years after the show, which is based on Robert Kirkman's long-running comic book, premiered and became a smash hit. Given the walker-like pace of releasing The Walking Dead: Original Soundtrack, Vol. 1, it's something of a surprise that it includes so little of the show's original score, especially when Bear McCreary's gorgeously dread-filled theme song (which appears here as a remix by UNKLE) and unsettling incidental music are as vital to the show's horror as its gruesome special effects. Aside from the theme song and the lovely, spare version of "The Parting Glass" sung by Lauren Cohan and Emily Kinney (who play sisters Maggie and Beth Greene), most of the album focuses on songs by other artists that have appeared on the show over the years. Looking back, the series has featured a higher than expected amount of pop music, including songs by Wooden Shjips, Wye Oak, the Cave Singers, and Bob Dylan, but the selections were used subtly and were well suited to the show's post-apocalyptic South setting. This is also true of these songs, with the earthy, bluesy "Lead Me Home" by Jamie N Commons (a Brit who sounded twice as old as he actually was when he recorded it), Of Mice & Men's plaintive "Sinking Man," and Delta Spirit's gritty "Running" capturing The Walking Dead's hard edges and bleak beauty at their finest.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/19/2013
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602537319794
catalogNumber: 001814802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Emily Kinney   Vocals
Lauren Cohan   Vocals

Technical Credits

Michelle Johnson   Additional Production
Butch Walker   Composer,Producer
Greg Wells   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Kurt Allen   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Joe Stark   Composer
David Stark   Composer
Jon Jameson   Composer
Brandon Young   Composer
Tom Tapley   Vocal Engineer
Tim Thornton   Composer
Thomas Golubic   Producer
Bear McCreary   Composer
Voxhaul Broadcast   Producer
David Dennis   Composer
Anthony Aguiar   Composer
Matthew Vasquez   Composer
Kelly Winrich   Composer
Guy Whittaker   Composer
Fin Greenall   Composer
William McLaren   Composer
Jamie N Commons   Composer,Producer
Of Monsters and Men   Composer
Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir   Composer,Lyricist
Steven L. Kaplan   Composer
Phillip Munsey   Composer
Yvette Moteyer   Additional Production
Ragnar Porthallsson   Composer,Lyricist

Customer Reviews