The Very Best of the Winans

The Very Best of the Winans

by The WinansThe Winans




This collection covers material stemming from this landmark group's 1981 Light Records debut, Introducing the Winans, to their 1993 release All Out. Included are such favorites as "The Question Is," "Tomorrow," "Let My People Go," "Ain't No Need to Worry," "It's Time," "A Friend," and "Payday," among others. This release truly shows why the Winans are considered one of the artists responsible for bridging the gap between gospel and mainstream urban contemporary music.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/28/2009
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227985097
catalogNumber: 78280


  1. The Question Is
  2. Restoration
  3. Long Time Comin' (Holdin' On)
  4. Tomorrow
  5. Uphold Me
  6. Let My People Go
  7. Straighten My Life Out
  8. Choose Ye
  9. I'll Follow Where You Lead
  10. Ain't No Need to Worry
  11. The Real Meaning of Christmas
  12. It's Time
  13. A Friend
  14. Everyday the Same
  15. When You Cry
  16. Payday

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Winans   Primary Artist
Anita Baker   Track Performer
Kenny G   Saxophone
Justo Almario   Saxophone,Woodwind
Howard Smith   Background Vocals
James W. Alexander   Synthesizer,Conductor,Keyboards
Tata Vega   Background Vocals
Michael Wycoff   Keyboards
Thomas Whitfield   Keyboards
Tom Keene   Keyboards
Aaron Hall   Background Vocals
Michael Ruff   Synthesizer
Melvin Williams   Vocals
R. Kelly   Multi Instruments,Rap
Alex Acuña   Percussion
Vanessa Bell Armstrong   Track Performer
Percy Bady   Keyboards,Choir, Chorus
Lanar Brantley   Bass
Lafayette Carthon   Piano
Charles Veal   Concert Master
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Dana Davis   Drums
David Ervin   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Vernon D. Fails   Keyboards
Jeff Fair   Synthesizer
James Gadson   Drums
Andrew Gouche   Bass,Choir, Chorus
Hadley Hockensmith   Bass,Guitar
Loris Holland   Keyboards
Leroy Hyter   Track Performer
Jerry Kaywell   fairlight
Abraham Laboriel   Bass,Percussion
Wayne Lindsey   Conductor,Multi Instruments
Donnie Lyle   Guitar
David Mansfield   Guitar
Andy Martin   Trombone
Bill Maxwell   Percussion,Drums
Perry Morgan   Background Vocals
Dean Parks   Guitar
Arnold Ramsey   Drums
Teddy Riley   Multi Instruments
Harlan Rogers   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Alfie Silas   Background Vocals
Jim Slattery   Keyboards
Scott Smith   Trumpet
Steve Tavaglione   Flute,Saxophone
Sheryl Walker   Choir, Chorus
Doug Williams   Vocals
Michael Williams   Drums
Carvin Winans   Percussion
Marvin Winans   Keyboards
Vickie Winans   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
David Winans   Guitar
Angelique Winans   Choir, Chorus
Delores Winans   Background Vocals
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica,Vocals
Wayman Tisdale   Track Performer
Dave Boroff   Saxophone
BeBe Winans   Background Vocals
Tim Bowman   Choir, Chorus
"Ready" Freddie Washington   Bass
Charlie Davis   Trumpet
David E. Williams   Guitar,Percussion
Debbie Leakey   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Winans   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Quincy Jones   Executive Producer
James W. Alexander   Arranger,Programming
Tom Keene   rhythm arrangement
R. Kelly   Producer
Andraé Crouch   Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Horn Arrangements
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Mike Brown   overdub engineer
Lafayette Carthon   Pre-production Coordinator
Bob Cotton   Engineer
David Ervin   Programming
Vernon D. Fails   String Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
James Gadson   drum programming
Peter Haden   Engineer
Michael Iacopelli   Engineer
Win Kutz   Engineer
Wayne Lindsey   Arranger
Bill Maxwell   Producer,Horn Arrangements
Benny Medina   Executive Producer
Peter Mokran   Programming,Engineer
Barney Perkins   Engineer
Michael J. Powell   Producer,String Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Teddy Riley   Arranger,Producer
Jason Roberts   overdub engineer
Scott Smith   Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Steve Tavaglione   Horn Arrangements
Carvin Winans   Producer
Marvin Winans   Producer
Michael Winans   Producer
Warren Woods   overdub engineer
Brett Richardson   Engineer
Reggie Collins   Discographical Annotation
Barry Hankerson   Producer,Executive Producer
Bernard Bell   Producer
Dave Way   Engineer
Lin Woods   Liner Notes
Leigh Hall   Liner Note Coordination
Steve King   Engineer

Customer Reviews