The Very Best of the Drifters [Rhino]

The Very Best of the Drifters [Rhino]

by The DriftersThe Drifters




This mid-priced 16-song collection is the successor to the old Atlantic Records Drifters Golden Hits, covering the group's very best songs from "There Goes My Baby" in 1959 on up through 1964 in a more comprehensive way. Very pleasingly remastered and handy on its own terms, The Very Best of the Drifters also provides just a taste of what the post-1958 group had to offer, even in terms of singles. No one will dislike anything about it, but those who have heard even part of the two-CD package All-Time Greatest Hits & More will recognize The Very Best of the Drifters as nothing but a superficial sampler of what the Ben E. King/Rudy Lewis/Johnny Moore version of the group left behind. The Very Best of the Drifters is a great place to start, but the leap from this material to the rest of the Drifters' best is such a short one that, unless time or budgetary limitations dictate otherwise, it can be bypassed in favor of Atlantic's double-disc All-Time Greatest Hits & More.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/1993
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227121129
catalogNumber: 71211


  1. There Goes My Baby
  2. (If You Cry) True Love, True Love
  3. Dance with Me
  4. This Magic Moment
  5. Save the Last Dance for Me
  6. I Count the Tears
  7. Some Kind of Wonderful
  8. Please Stay
  9. Sweets for My Sweet
  10. When My Little Girl Is Smiling
  11. Up on the Roof
  12. On Broadway
  13. I'll Take You Home
  14. Under the Boardwalk
  15. I've Got Sand in My Shoes
  16. Saturday Night at the Movies

Album Credits

Customer Reviews