Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Very Best of the Doobie Brothers

The Very Best of the Doobie Brothers

by The Doobie Brothers The Doobie Brothers
The Very Best of the Doobie Brothers

The Very Best of the Doobie Brothers

by The Doobie Brothers The Doobie Brothers


$15.39 $21.99 Save 30% Current price is $15.39, Original price is $21.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 18


There have been plenty of single-disc Doobie Brothers collections released over the years. There have been two-part vinyl Best of the Doobies, there have been budget-line collections, and there have been OK overviews as well as excellent generous discs with all the big hits. There's even been a comprehensive four-disc box, but what there hasn't been is a double-disc set -- something that falls between the conciseness of 2001's terrific Greatest Hits (the first CD to contain all the big hits on one CD) and 1999's four-disc Long Train Runnin' 1970-2000. That's what 2007's The Very Best of the Doobie Brothers is, a double-disc helping of the Doobies' biggest songs from "Listen to the Music" to "The Doctor." Actually, this Very Best stretches a little further than "The Doctor," which arrives five songs from the end, illustrating the point that for the average listener, this may be just a little too generous at 33 tracks. That's a long running time, providing room for all the hits plus a bunch of album tracks that weren't necessarily on album rock radio, so this may be too much for listeners who just want the hits; they should stick to that 2001 Greatest Hits. But for fans who want a lot of the Doobies' best without investing in either the original albums or the box, this Very Best is welcome.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/13/2007
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227338428
catalogNumber: 73384
Rank: 5147


Disc 1

  1. Listen to the Music
  2. Jesus Is Just Alright
  3. Rockin' Down the Highway
  4. Long Train Runnin'
  5. China Grove
  6. South City Midnight Lady
  7. Another Park, Another Sunday
  8. Eyes of Silver
  9. Nobody
  10. Black Water
  11. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me)
  12. Sweet Maxine
  13. I Cheat the Hangman
  14. Takin' It to the Streets
  15. Wheels of Fortune
  16. It Keeps You Runnin'

Disc 2

  1. Little Darling (I Need You)
  2. Echoes of Love
  3. What a Fool Believes
  4. Minute by Minute
  5. Dependin' on You
  6. Real Love
  7. One Step Closer
  8. Wynken, Blynken and Nod
  9. Keep This Train A-Rollin'
  10. Here to Love You
  11. You Belong to Me
  12. The Doctor
  13. South of the Border
  14. Need a Little Taste of Love
  15. Dangerous
  16. Rollin' On
  17. Ordinary Man

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doobie Brothers   Primary Artist
Michael McDonald   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Chet McCracken   Drums,Marimbas,Vibes,Group Member
Cornelius Bumpus   Organ,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Group Member
Tom Johnston   Synthesizer,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Vocals
Patrick Simmons   Synthesizer,Banjo,Flute,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Jeff Baxter   Guitar,Group Member
Michael Hossack   Percussion,Conga,Drums,Timbales,Group Member
Keith Knudsen   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Bobby LaKind   Percussion,Vocals,Group Member
John McFee   Dobro,Guitar,Harmonica,Mandolin,Pedal Steel Guitar,Violin,Vocals,Group Member
Tiran Porter   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Dave Shogren   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
John Hartman   Percussion,Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Carlene Carter   Composer
Doobie Brothers   Audio Production
Kenny Loggins   Composer
Michael McDonald   Composer
Carly Simon   Composer
Willie Mitchell   Composer
Eddie Schwartz   Composer,Producer
Patrick Simmons   Composer
Michael Ruff   Composer
Lester Abrams   Composer
Greg Allen   Art Direction
Guy Allison   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Baxter   Composer
Devon Bernadoni   Engineer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Marty Cohn   Engineer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Rev. Patrick Henderson   Composer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
James Isaacson   Engineer
Marvin Isley   Composer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
Keith Knudsen   Composer
Donn Landee   Engineer,Remixing
John McFee   Composer,Engineer,Logo
Charlie Midnight   Composer,Producer
Rodney Mills   Producer,Engineer
Terry Nelson   Producer,Engineer
Devon Rietveld   Engineer
Lucy Simon   Composer
Ted Templeman   Producer
Lenny Waronker   Producer
Barry Alfonso   Liner Notes
John Hartman   Composer
Lynn Peterson   Engineer
Glenn Parsons   Logo Illustration
Steve Woolard   Discographical Annotation
Earl Randle   Composer
Dave Russell   Engineer
Bob Bangerter   Composer
Eugene Field   Composer
Alan Fletcher   Producer

Customer Reviews