The Very Best of Roy Orbison [Sony/BMG Australia]

The Very Best of Roy Orbison [Sony/BMG Australia]

by Roy Orbison


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18


The most unlikely of rock stars, there are few images as riveting as Roy Orbison standing completely motionless at the microphone in his trademark dark shades as he climbs the notes of one of his haunting, operatic pop songs, sounding for all the world like an angel stranded on earth and yearning to get back home. From his first recordings in the mid-'50s for Sun Records through his unlikely comeback in the late '80s, Orbison never lost an inch of his astounding vocal range or his knack for writing concise and emotionally nuanced pop ballads that seemed for all the world like mini-operas. This well-chosen collection offers up two dozen of Orbison's key sides taken from all phases of his career, including his 1956 debut single for Sun Records, "Ooby Dooby," through his brilliant '60s output ("Oh, Pretty Woman," "Only the Lonely," "Blue Bayou," "It's Over," "Crying") and cuts from his 1989 Mystery Girl album like the well-written and sung "She's a Mystery to Me." The versions here of "In Dreams" and "Claudette" are not the original singles but re-recordings done in the mid-'80s, but it hardly matters, since Orbison gives both the exact same emotional readings as he did the first time around. There are plenty of Orbison best-of collections on the market, but this one gets points for being a true career-spanning survey.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/2007
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0828768127629
catalogNumber: 6812762
Rank: 4382

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roy Orbison   Primary Artist,Guitar,Background Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Hank Garland   Guitar
Rita Coolidge   Background Vocals
Jeff Lynne   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Tom Petty   Guitar
Dewey Martin   Drums
Scotty Moore   Guitar
Jim Keltner   Drums
Grady Martin   Guitar
Bill Pursell   Vibes
Joe Chemay   Background Vocals
John Rainey Adkins   Guitar
Benmont Tench   Piano
Barry Booth   Piano
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Boudleaux Bryant   Guitar
Ray Cooper   Drums
Linda Dillard   Background Vocals
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Howie Epstein   Bass
Gene Morford   Background Vocals
Jim Haas   Background Vocals
Buddy Harman   Drums
Jon Joyce   Background Vocals
Rodney Justo   Guitar
Jerry Kennedy   Guitar
Jack Kennelly   Bass
Paul Leim   Drums
Tommy Morgan   Harmonica
James Morrow   Mandolin
Wayne Moss   Guitar
Robert Nix   Drums
Carole Parks   Background Vocals
Dean Parks   Guitar
Boots Randolph   Saxophone
Billy Sanford   Guitar
Henry Strzelecki   Bass
Mike Utley   Keyboards
David Woodford   Saxophone
Billy Pat Ellis   Drums
Fred Carter   Guitar
Bob Moore & His Orchestra   Bass
Paul Garrison   Drums
John W. Greubel   Drums
Jerry Arnold   Drums
Bill Dees   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Joe Tanner   Guitar
Phil & Debi Jones   Drums
Bill Gilmore   Bass

Technical Credits

Jeff Lynne   Producer
Roy Orbison   Composer,Producer
Brian Ahern   Producer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Fred Foster   Producer
Alex North   Composer
Barbara Orbison   Executive Producer
C.Q. Price   Composer
Wesley Rose   Producer
Jim Vienneau   Producer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Chet Flippo   Liner Notes
C. Walker   Composer
Sam Phillips   Producer
Michael Utley   Producer
Bill Dees   Composer
Joe Melson   Composer
Dick Penner   Composer
T.C. Kelly   Composer
Wade Moore   Composer
D.W. Evans   Composer
Jed Hilly   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews