The Very Best of Dusty Springfield

The Very Best of Dusty Springfield

by Dusty SpringfieldDusty Springfield


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3


Mercury records, which controls the Phillips records catalog, has compiled this Dusty Springfield set by referring to Springfield's U.K. and U.S. chart successes from 1964 to 1967, then licensing her two biggest hits for Atlantic records, "Son of a Preacher Man" and "A Brand New Me." The result, in terms of song selection, is an excellent 20-song, 57-minute disc that includes most of her best-known material. (The major omission is "The Windmills of Your Mind," a U.S. Top 40 hit, which was on Atlantic.) The more questionable elements on the album are the sequencing and the choice of mono and stereo takes. These problems are interrelated: if the compilation producer had opted for a chronological sequencing, the drastic aural differences between the early mono tracks and the later gimmicky, extreme (and, in at least one case, apparently fake) stereo tracks would not have been such a constant distraction to the listener. (So many tracks, even from as late as 1967, are in mono, that you wonder why they didn't just make the whole album mono.) And Springfield's stylistic evolution would have been more coherent, too. Why, for example, put the 1968 "Son of a Preacher Man" its full stereo, American R&B-style glory, as the fifth track, then follow it with the 1964 "I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself," in boxy mono with orchestral accompaniment? Of course, you can re-sequence the album on your CD player, but you shouldn't have to.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/21/1998
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0731455820829
catalogNumber: 558208
Rank: 33464


  1. I Only Want To Be With You
  2. Wishin' and Hopin'
  3. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
  4. Stay Awhile
  5. Son Of A Preacher Man
  6. I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself
  7. What's It Gonna Be
  8. All Cried Out
  9. In The Middle Of Nowhere
  10. All I See Is You
  11. The Look of Love
  12. Little By Little
  13. I Close My Eyes And Count To Ten
  14. Some of Your Lovin'
  15. I'll Try Anything
  16. Losing You
  17. Guess Who?
  18. A Brand New Me
  19. Give Me Time
  20. Goin' Back

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dusty Springfield   Primary Artist,Vocals
Ray Stevens   Conductor
Peter Knight   Conductor
Reg Guest   Conductor
Wally Stott   Conductor

Technical Credits

Ray Stevens   Arranger
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Simon Napier-Bell   Composer
Herb Bernstein   Director,Producer,Audio Production
Roland Chambers   Producer
Hal David   Composer
Ugene Dozier   Producer
Pino Donaggio   Composer
Tom Dowd   Producer,Audio Production
Buddy Kaye   Composer
Bill Levenson   Executive Producer
Arif Mardin   Producer,Audio Production
Terry Noonan   Director
Jerry Ragovoy   Producer
Ivor Raymonde   Director
Shelby Singleton   Producer
Tom Springfield   Composer
Jerry Wexler   Producer,Audio Production
Vicki Wickham   Composer
John Franz   Audio Production
Keith Mansfield   Director
Mike Gill   Contributor
Beatrice Verdi   Composer
Giuseppe Donaggio   Composer
Clive Westlake   Composer
Vito Pallavicini   Composer

Customer Reviews