The Very Best of Dokken

The Very Best of Dokken

by DokkenDokken


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 15


Dokken was one of the finest bands to come out of the Los Angeles hair metal scene of the '80s, and The Very Best of Dokken proves it. Don Dokken was a terrific singer, and guitarist George Lynch's splashy fretwork was a superb fit. (Bass guitarist Jeff Pilson and drummer Mick Brown were important factors in the group's songwriting as well.) Perhaps it's no surprise that tensions were high between Don Dokken and Lynch, continuing a long tradition pioneered by the Rolling Stones' Mick Jagger and Keith Richards and Deep Purple's Ian Gillan and Ritchie Blackmore. By 1999, Lynch had left the band and been replaced by Winger alumnus Reb Beach. The Very Best of Dokken is a great 16-song compilation arranged in chronological order; it's essential listening for anyone interested in Reagan-era hard rock and heavy metal. Dokken's '80s studio albums were occasionally uneven, so this collection, which also includes decent liner notes, is the best place for the uninitiated to start. Highlights include "Breaking the Chains," "Into the Fire," "Just Got Lucky," "Alone Again" (one of the finest power ballads ever), "In My Dreams," "Dream Warriors," and "Burning Like a Flame." Other notable tracks include the fiery instrumental "Mr. Scary"; "Walk Away," the sole studio cut on Dokken's 1988 live album, Beast from the East; "Mirror Mirror," from Don Dokken's 1990 solo album, Up from the Ashes; and the anti-drug "Too High to Fly," from the somewhat underrated yet aptly titled 1995 reunion album, Dysfunctional.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/06/1999
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0081227583422
catalogNumber: 75834
Rank: 40970

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dokken   Primary Artist
Don Dokken   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
George Lynch   Guitar
Peter Baltes   Bass,Vocals
Juan Croucier   Bass,Vocals
Jeff Pilson   Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Billy White   Guitar
Mikkey Dee   Percussion,Drums
"Wild" Mick Brown   Drums,Vocals

Technical Credits

Dokken   Composer,Producer
Don Dokken   Producer
Angelo Arcuri   Producer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Wyn Davis   Producer
Bill Inglot   Producer
Neil Kernon   Producer
David McLees   Producer
Michael Wagener   Producer
Tom Werman   Producer
Elizabeth Pavone   Editorial Coordinator
Emily Cagan   Producer
Daniel Goldmark   Editorial Research
Katherine Turman   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews