The Very Best of Albert King [Stax]

The Very Best of Albert King [Stax]

by Albert King Albert King
The Very Best of Albert King [Stax]

The Very Best of Albert King [Stax]

by Albert King Albert King




A left-handed, self-taught guitar player who played his instrument upside down and backwards, Albert King could wring out guitar leads that were as sharp as razor blades zinging along a telephone line, but he was also a well-rounded musician, having played drums in Chicago for Jimmy Reed and was a good enough singer to have been part of a gospel quartet called the Harmony Kings. But his claim to fame and history will always be his guitar playing, and in particular, the sides he cut between 1966 and 1974 for Stax Records, the best of which are collected here. Stax was known for its funky Southern soul sides, and the blues wasn't really on the table for the imprint when King cut "Laundromat Blues" for them in 1966. The song did well enough that King became Stax's blues division almost single-handedly, releasing classics like "Crosscut Saw" in 1966 and King's signature tune, "Born Under a Bad Sign," written by William Bell and Booker T. Jones, in 1967. All of these are here, along with a slower and funkier remake of "Crosscut Saw" that King cut for Stax in 1974, making this compilation not only a fine introduction to this fiery guitar player, but also a solid survey of his peak years.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2007
Label: Stax
UPC: 0888072302969
catalogNumber: 30296
Rank: 11424


  1. Laundromat Blues
  2. Oh, Pretty Woman
  3. Crosscut Saw
  4. Born Under a Bad Sign
  5. Cold Feet
  6. (I Love) Lucy
  7. Blues Power
  8. Drowning on Dry Land
  9. Tupelo, Pt.1
  10. Water
  11. Wrapped Up in Love Again
  12. Can't You See What You're Doing to Me
  13. Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
  14. Angel of Mercy
  15. I'll Play the Blues for You, Pt. 1
  16. Breaking Up Somebody's Home
  17. Playing on Me
  18. That's What the Blues Is All About
  19. Flat Tire
  20. Crosscut Saw

Album Credits

Customer Reviews