The Very Best of Al Jarreau: An Excellent Adventure

The Very Best of Al Jarreau: An Excellent Adventure

by Al Jarreau Al Jarreau
The Very Best of Al Jarreau: An Excellent Adventure

The Very Best of Al Jarreau: An Excellent Adventure

by Al Jarreau Al Jarreau


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 8


Vocalist Al Jarreau is one of the most successful singers in history. He has scored hits on Billboard's Jazz, R&B, Adult Contemporary, and Contemporary Jazz charts. He's won multiple Grammys and sold millions of records. Rhino has assembled 15 tracks that represent his long career with Warner Brothers and even cross-licensed a couple from Universal's GRP and Verve imprints. In addition to the 15 career-spanning cuts ranging roughly from 1975 to 1988 with a couple of tunes thrown in from the current decade, there is a new song entitled "Excellent Adventure," produced by the team of Amhir "?uestlove" Thompson and James Poyser, the same pair that produced Al Green's successful Lay It Down. Fiona Frawley assembled this compilation and did a stellar job, including not only all the chart hits, but those that truly represent Jarreau's range as a singer and composer. There is an edited version of Dave Brubeck's "Take Five" here from his successful 1977 album Look to the Rainbow LP, as well as "We Got By," from his self-titled debut album. There are three cuts from 1981's multi-platinum Breaking Away, and his monster theme from the television series Moonlighting. But it's the inclusion of several tracks such as Chick Corea's "Spain," from 1980's This Time album, and Eddie Harris's "Cold Duck," from his 2004 set Accentuate the Positive that make this a special compilation -- neither cut made the charts, but both are nonetheless representative, even signature performances in Jarreau's recording career. Fans who already have comps can ditch them for this, and those who are curious would do well to actually begin their education with The Very Best Of: An Excellent Adventure.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2009
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227984748
catalogNumber: 521468
Rank: 5280


  1. After All
  2. Moonlighting (Theme)
  3. Never Givin' Up
  4. Roof Garden
  5. Spain (I Can Recall)
  6. Take Five
  7. We're in This Love Together
  8. Rainbow in Your Eyes
  9. Just to Be Loved
  10. Cold Duck
  11. We Got By
  12. Boogie Down
  13. (Round, Round, Round) Blue Rondo a La Turk
  14. Mornin'
  15. So Good
  16. Excellent Adventure

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jarreau   Primary Artist
Randy Bowland   Guitar
James Poyser   Keyboards
Daniel Sadownick   Percussion
?uestlove   Drums
Matt Cappy   Trumpet
Adam Blackstone   Bass
Mercedes Martinez   Background Vocals
Chris Farr   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Jarreau   Arranger,Composer,Liner Notes,rhythm arrangement
Leon Russell   Composer
Larry Williams   Arranger
Dave Brubeck   Composer
Paul Desmond   Composer
George Duke   Producer
Eddie Harris   Composer
Jeremy Lubbock   Arranger,String Arrangements
Greg Mathieson   Composer,rhythm arrangement
Freddie Ravel   Arranger,Composer
David Foster   Arranger,Composer
Bill Champlin   Composer
Nile Rodgers   Producer
Phil Davis   Arranger
Don Heckman   Liner Notes
Paul Brown   Arranger,Producer
Robbie Buchanan   Arranger
Tom Canning   Arranger,Composer,rhythm arrangement
Armando Anthony Corea   Composer
Nick DeCaro   Vocal Arrangements
Jay Graydon   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Lee Holdridge   Composer
Tommy LiPuma   Producer
Roger Murrah   Composer
Michael Omartian   Composer,rhythm arrangement
James Poyser   Producer
Schmitt   Producer
Jon Smeltz   Engineer
Keith Stegall   Composer
Peter Vale   Composer
Miles Waters   Composer
Richard Nichols   Executive Producer
?uestlove   Producer
Artie Maren   Composer
Randy Watson Experience   Arranger,Producer
Paul Rayner-Brown   Arranger,Producer
Larry Andrew Williams   Arranger

Customer Reviews