The Velveteen Rabbit

The Velveteen Rabbit

by George WinstonGeorge Winston

CD(Special Edition)

$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


George Winston's spare but expressive style spans chilly pieces like the opening track and "Christmas," which borrows from "Carol of the Bells," to warmer, more contemporary-sounding compositions such as "Lullaby," the ripplingly lovely "Spring," "Summer Evening/The Rabbit Dance," and the twinkling "Loneliness/The Fairy." Meryl Streep's narration, delivered in a crisp British accent, is also remarkable, shifting from the Velveteen Rabbit and the boy's guileless characters to the cheeky wild rabbits to the gruff Nana without ever sounding overly theatrical. With just Streep's voice and Winston's piano, the duo creates a beautifully realized version of this story of love's transformative power. The second, instrumental half of the album spotlights Winston's restrained but lovingly crafted solo piano compositions. As both a refined children's album and a thoughtful collection of solo piano pieces, The Velveteen Rabbit remains extraordinary.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/10/2020
Label: Valley
UPC: 0618321528020
catalogNumber: 15280
Rank: 85021


  1. The Velveteen Rabbit (Piano Solo)
  2. Christmas
  3. The Toys
  4. The Skin Horse
  5. Nana
  6. Lullaby
  7. Spring
  8. Summer
  9. Summer Evening and the Rabbit Dance
  10. Alone (Piano Solo)
  11. Shabbiness Doesn't Matter
  12. Anxious Moments
  13. Loneliness and the Fairy
  14. Flying
  15. Returning
  16. The Velveteen Rabbit (Piano Solo)
  17. The Velveteen Rabbit
  18. Christmas
  19. The Toys
  20. The Skin Horse
  21. This Magic Called Real
  22. Lullaby (Sandman)
  23. Spring (The Velveteen Rabbit)
  24. Summer
  25. Summer Evening
  26. The Rabbit Dance
  27. Alone
  28. Shabbiness Doesn't Matter
  29. Anxious Moments, Pt. 1
  30. Loneliness
  31. Anxious Moments, Pt. 2/The Fairy
  32. Flying
  33. Returning/The Velveteen Rabbit
  34. Night Thoughts

Album Credits

Customer Reviews