Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Velvet Underground & Nico

The Velvet Underground & Nico

by Nico, John Cale Nico
The Velvet Underground & Nico

The Velvet Underground & Nico

by Nico, John Cale Nico


$7.99 $16.99 Save 53% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 53%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, February 14


On one song, Nico gently croons, "I'll be your mirror/ Reflect what you are/ In case you don't know," while on another Lou Reed grumbles, "I'm waiting for my man/ Twenty-six dollars in my hand/ Up to Lexington, one-two-five/ Feel sick and dirty/ More dead than alive." The Velvet Underground delighted in bringing to light the things people felt but denied about themselves -- and in doing so became one of the most influential bands of all time. The members -- Lou Reed, John Cale, Sterling Morrison, Moe Tucker, and, for this 1967 recording only, Nico -- were part of Andy Warhol's Exploding Plastic Inevitable, and that association gave them license to experiment with feedback and distortion in their music and taboo subject matter in their lyrics, with "Heroin" romanticizing the pleasures of smack and "Venus in Furs" exploring the role-playing and intricacies of S&M. Warhol had never produced a recording before, so he used his imprimatur -- in this case the classic banana cover -- to ward off interference. Brian Eno once said that only a few dozen people bought this record -- but that all of them were then inspired to start their own band.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/07/1996
Label: Polydor / Umgd
UPC: 0731453125025
catalogNumber: 531250
Rank: 5822


  1. Sunday Morning
  2. I'm Waiting for the Man
  3. Femme Fatale
  4. Venus in Furs
  5. Run Run Run
  6. All Tomorrow's Parties
  7. Heroin
  8. There She Goes Again
  9. I'll Be Your Mirror
  10. The Black Angel's Death Song
  11. European Son

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nico   Primary Artist,Vocals,Chant
John Cale   Bass,Piano,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Viola,Electric Viola
Lou Reed   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Sterling Morrison   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Moe Tucker   Bass,Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

John Cale   Composer
Lou Reed   Composer
Velvet Underground   Arranger
David Greene   Remixing
Gene Radice   Remixing
Moe Tucker   Composer
Val Valentin   Director Of Engineering
Andy Warhol   Producer,Cover Painting
Tom Wilson   Producer,Contributor
Omi Haden   Engineer
Acy Lehman   Cover Design
John Wilcock   Liner Notes
David Antim   Liner Notes
Jonas Mekas   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews