The Valley

The Valley

by Betty WhoBetty Who


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 28


On The Valley, Betty Who takes an even bigger step away from the '80s sound that defined her early music. It's not a surprising move, considering that her cover of Donna Lewis' "I Love You Always Forever" became one of her most popular songs (and ended up on this album). Who's version of the '90s hit adds processed harmonies reminiscent of one of the 2000s' definitive songs, Imogen Heap's "Hide and Seek," and the rest of The Valley finds her expanding her range of influences even further. As on Take Me When You Go, she collaborated with a wide range of producers on these songs, including Pop & Oak, Mstr Rogers, and Robopop. As a result, The Valley is a closer fit with the mainstream pop landscape of the 2010s than anything she's done before. "Human Touch" is a slice of Major Lazer-style tropical pop, while "Blue Heaven Midnight Crush" sounds like it could have appeared on Taylor Swift's 1989 thanks to its breezy synths and staccato melody. Unlike pop stars who need tricky productions to distract from their limitations, Who has a voice that's equally powerful and delicate, and The Valley's a cappella title track is one of the best showcases for its musical and emotional range yet. Similarly, the album's best moments let her emotive, expressive singing shine on songs that are all the more joyous because they're so relatable, whether it's the breakup recovery anthem "You Can Cry Tomorrow" or the celebratory Superfruit collaboration "Beautiful" (which was written in the wake of the shooting at the Orlando, Florida nightclub Pulse). Likewise, "Wanna Be" and "Pretend You're Missing Me" find a happy medium between Who's outsize personality and chart-dominating trends.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2017
Label: Rca
UPC: 0889854157623
catalogNumber: 541576
Rank: 121763


  1. The Valley
  2. Some Kinda Wonderful
  3. You Can Cry Tomorrow
  4. Mama Say
  5. Human Touch
  6. Free To Fly
  7. Wanna Be
  8. Pretend You're Missing Me
  9. Blue Heaven Midnight Crush
  10. Make You Memories
  11. Reunion
  12. Beautiful
  13. I Love You Always Forever

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Betty Who   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Kyle Moorman   Synthesizer,Guitar,Trumpet,Drums,Background Vocals
Jaco Caraco   Guitar
Christopher J. Baran   Guitar,Keyboards
Matt Sokoler   Bass
Jarrad Rogers   Background Vocals
Peter Thomas   Synthesizer,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Gavin Taylor   Art Direction
Donna Lewis   Composer
Kuk Harrell   Vocal Producer
Craig Love   Composer
Emily Wright   Vocal Producer
Oliver Goldstein   Composer,Producer
Sean Paul Joseph   Composer
Justin Tranter   Composer
Warren Griffin   Composer
Kyle Moorman   Composer,Programming,Producer
Jordan Johnson   Composer
Warren "Oak" Felder   Composer,Producer
Thomas Eriksen   Composer
Stefan Johnson   Composer
Robert McDowell   Composer
Marcus Lomax   Composer
Christopher J. Baran   Programming,Producer
Zak Waters   Composer
Ali Tamposi   Composer
Jonathan "Lil Jon" Smith   Composer
Cedric Leonard   Composer
Vaughn Oliver   Composer,Producer
Jeffrey Ray Grigsby   Composer
Daniel Thomas Omelio   Composer
Fransisca Hall   Composer
Jarrad Rogers   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Betty Who   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Monsters & Strangerz   Producer
Pretty Sister   Producer
Zaire Koalo   Composer,Producer
Trevor Brown   Composer
Simone Torres   Vocal Engineer
Peter Thomas   Composer,Programming,Producer,Additional Production

Customer Reviews