The United Artists Collection

The United Artists Collection

by Gordon LightfootGordon Lightfoot


$12.33 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.33, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This double CD contains all four of the Toronto singer/songwriter's '60s studio albums (the live LP Sunday Concert, not included here, was also released in the '60s). On these records, his resonant vocals, lyrical ambition, and melodic strengths produced as close a rival to Bob Dylan as Canada ever fashioned during that decade, and foreshadowed work by other major Canadian singer/songwriters of the late '60s, such as Joni Mitchell, Neil Young, and Leonard Cohen. "Early Mornin' Rain" (covered by fellow Canadian folkies Ian & Sylvia), the folk-rock protest number "Black Day in July," the epic "Canadian Railroad Trilogy," and his cover of Ewan McColl's "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" are all present, and are among the most popular tracks Lightfoot has issued during his long career. Featuring both acoustic and folk-rock recordings, this neatly bundles Lightfoot's early work into a listenable and fairly inexpensive package.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/05/1993
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724382701521
catalogNumber: 27015
Rank: 26127

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gordon Lightfoot   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Kenny Buttrey   Percussion
Bruce Langhorne   Guitar
Bill Lee   Bass
Herb Lovelle   Drums
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
David Rae   Guitar
Laurice Milton Shea   Guitar
Red Shea   Guitar
John Stockfish   Bass
Charlie McCoy   Guitar,Harmonica,Celeste,Bells
Rick Haynes   Bass

Technical Credits

Gordon Lightfoot   Remixing
Osborne Smith   Composer
John Simon   Producer
Benny Andersson   Composer
John Court   Producer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes
Agnetha Fältskog   Composer
Bruce Harris   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer
Tim Lewis   Cover Design
Elliot Mazer   Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Charlie Tallent   Engineer
Björn Ulvaeus   Composer
Vincent M. Vero   Producer,Engineer,Discographical Compiled
Henry Marquez   Art Direction
Anni-Frid Lyngstad   Composer
Jess Klein   Composer

Customer Reviews