The Ultimate Hits

The Ultimate Hits

by Garth Brooks


In a way, it's like Garth Brooks never retired. He may have stopped touring and releasing new music, but he kept repackaging and reissuing his older albums, striking up an exclusive deal with Wal-Mart highlighted by a second box set called The Limited Series in 2006. That exclusivity contract expired in the summer of 2007, leaving Brooks a free agent, and he capitalized on his freedom almost immediately, delivering the double-disc singles collection The Ultimate Hits just in time for the holiday season of 2007. Where previous Garth repackagings could seem a little unnecessary -- it's not quite clear just how many of his fans needed that second Limited Series anyway -- The Ultimate Hits actually fills in a needed gap within his catalog, as Brooks hasn't had a hit compilation since his first, the 1994 The Hits. That disc was a "limited edition" at least in theory -- there were so many copies pressed it wasn't exactly rare -- and out of print since the mid-'90s, so it wasn't available in most retail stores, plus it didn't cover all the hits he had between its release and his retirement. The Ultimate Hits does exactly that, containing all 18 tracks from The Hits (albeit not in the same sequencing), adding 12 hits that he had in the last half of the '90s, along with four new songs highlighted by a cover of Huey Lewis & the News' "Workin' for a Livin'." The new songs are a nice touch, but the real purpose of this set is to offer casual fans a way to get all of Brooks' best-known hits in one package, and in that regard, The Ultimate Hits not only succeeds, it's long overdue.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2016
Label: Pearl Records-Terms
UPC: 0854206001299
catalogNumber: 1299


Disc 1

  1. Ain't Goin' Down ('Til the Sun Comes Up)
  2. Friends in Low Places
  3. Shameless
  4. Two of a Kind, Workin' on a Full House
  5. The Beaches of Cheyenne
  6. If Tomorrow Never Comes
  7. Papa Loved Mama
  8. More Than a Memory
  9. Good Ride Cowboy
  10. In Another's Eyes
  11. The Fever
  12. Midnight Sun
  13. Learning to Live Again
  14. Longneck Bottle
  15. To Make You Feel My Love
  16. We Shall Be Free
  17. The Dance

Disc 2

  1. Callin' Baton Rouge
  2. Two Piña Coladas
  3. The Thunder Rolls
  4. That Summer
  5. The River
  6. Beer Run
  7. Unanswered Prayers
  8. Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old)
  9. Workin' for a Livin'
  10. What She's Doing Now
  11. When You Come Back to Me Again
  12. Standing Outside the Fire
  13. American Honky-Tonk Bar Association
  14. The Change
  15. Rodeo
  16. Wrapped Up in You
  17. Leave a Light On
  18. [Untitled]
  19. [Untitled]

Disc 3

  1. Much Too Young
  2. If Tomorrow Never Comes
  3. The Dance
  4. Friends in Low Places
  5. Unanswered Prayers
  6. Two of a Kind, Workin' on a Full House
  7. The Thunder Rolls
  8. Rodeo
  9. Shameless
  10. Papa Loved Mama
  11. What She's Doing Now
  12. The River
  13. We Shall Be Free
  14. Learning to Live Again
  15. That Summer
  16. Standing Outside the Fire
  17. Ain't Goin' Down
  18. Callin' Baton Rouge
  19. American Honky
  20. The Fever
  21. To Make You Feel My Love
  22. The Beaches of Cheyenne
  23. The Change
  24. Two Piña Coladas
  25. Longneck Bottle
  26. In Another's Eyes
  27. Wrapped Up In You
  28. Beer Run
  29. When You Come Back to Me Again
  30. Good Ride Cowboy
  31. More Than a Memory
  32. Workin' for a Livin'
  33. Midnight Sun

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Garth Brooks   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Garth Brooks   Composer
George Jones   Duet
Steve Wariner   Composer
Trisha Yearwood   Duet
Pat Alger   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Billy Joel   Composer
Joe Perry   Composer
Dennis Linde   Composer
Bobby Wood   Composer
Dennis Robbins   Composer
Warren Haynes   Composer
Shawn Camp   Composer
Rick Carnes   Composer
Stephanie Davis   Composer
Chris Hayes   Composer
Huey Lewis   Composer,Duet
Allen Reynolds   Producer
Dan Roberts   Composer
Victoria Shaw   Composer
Steven Tyler   Composer
Jenny Yates   Composer
George Ducas   Composer
Billy Montana   Composer
Tony Arata   Composer
Kim Williams   Composer
Jim Rushing   Composer
Virginia Team   Art Direction
Kent Blazy   Composer
Earl Bud Lee   Composer
Sandy Mahl   Composer
Don Schlitz   Composer
Wayne Tester   Composer
Larry Bastian   Composer
DeWayne Blackwell   Composer
Bryan Kennedy   Composer
Tracy Greenwood   Producer
Bobby Boyd   Composer
Amanda Williams   Composer
Luellyn Latocki   Art Direction
Ron Roark   Graphic Design
Benita Hill   Composer
Keith Anderson   Composer
Jerrod Niemann   Composer
Sandy Mason   Composer
Lee Brice   Composer
Richie Brown   Composer
Kyle Jacobs   Composer
John Peppard   Composer
Randy Taylor   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews