Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Ultimate Collection

The Ultimate Collection

by The Who The Who
The Ultimate Collection

The Ultimate Collection

by The Who The Who


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 24


Although the Who's catalogue has already produced several retrospectives, this cockily titled collection manages to live up to its name, offering what may well be the most complete and compelling look at the legendary band's career. The 35 tracks presented here follow the 'Oo through all their phases -- from the mod pop of "I Can't Explain" through the groundbreaking sonic boom of "I Can See for Miles" to the crafty latter-day punch of "Eminence Front." All the tunes have been digitally remastered for the occasion, and diehard completists will savor the clutch of alternate takes that pepper the two discs, most notably a stereo mix of "Magic Bus" that detonates with even more potency than the commonly heard mono version. Nicely outfitted with a booklet that includes extensive liner notes by the authors of the acclaimed Who history, Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere, the set perfectly distills the band's potent essence, making it a requisite part of any classic rock collection. And just to drive that point home, the first 175,000 copies include a four-track bonus disc featuring "Substitute" (rare U.S. single version), "I'm a Boy" (early version), "Magic Bus" (U.K. single version), and a previously unreleased acoustic version of "Happy Jack."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/2002
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811287726
catalogNumber: 112877
Rank: 699


Disc 1

  1. I Can't Explain
  2. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
  3. My Generation
  4. The Kids Are Alright
  5. A Legal Matter
  6. Substitute
  7. I'm a Boy
  8. Happy Jack
  9. Boris the Spider
  10. Pictures of Lily
  11. I Can See for Miles
  12. Call Me Lightning
  13. Magic Bus
  14. Pinball Wizard
  15. I'm Free
  16. See Me, Feel Me
  17. Young Man Blues
  18. The Seeker
  19. Summertime Blues
  20. Baba O'Riley
  21. Bargain

Disc 2

  1. Behind Blue Eyes
  2. Won't Get Fooled Again
  3. Pure and Easy
  4. Let's See Action
  5. Join Together
  6. Long Live Rock
  7. The Real Me
  8. 5:15
  9. Love Reign O'Er Me
  10. Squeeze Box
  11. Who Are You
  12. Sister Disco
  13. You Better You Bet
  14. Eminence Front

Album Credits

Customer Reviews