Ultimate Collection [Legacy] [LP]

Ultimate Collection [Legacy] [LP]

by Roy OrbisonRoy Orbison

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Sony/Legacy's 2016 single-disc The Ultimate Collection is the first career-spanning Roy Orbison compilation since their double-disc Essential from a decade earlier. At 40 tracks, Essential would seem to have an edge over The Ultimate Collection, but the 2016 compilation has a significant advantage in that it contains the original hit versions of "Running Scared" and "In Dreams," iconic hits present only as re-recordings on the double-disc set. This is a significant boost for Ultimate, yet the collection still has its flaws, chief among them a non-chronological sequencing -- it's disconcerting to hear the posthumous "I Drove All Night" follow "Oh, Pretty Woman" at the outset of the set -- and how it emphasizes Orbison's post-Traveling Wilburys recordings over his early Sun sessions, which are represented only by "Ooby Dooby." A few other notable hits are missing -- the seasonal standard "Pretty Paper," "Blue Angel," and "I'm Hurtin'," plus the cult favorite "Communication Breakdown" -- which may prevent this collection from truly being called "The Ultimate," but this nevertheless remains the best single-disc collection of Orbison's career ever assembled. [The Ultimate Collection was also released on LP.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/28/2016
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0889853688715
catalogNumber: 536887
Rank: 4452


Disc 1

  1. Oh, Pretty Woman
  2. I Drove All Night
  3. You Got It
  4. Crying
  5. Only the Lonely (Know the Way I Feel)
  6. In Dreams
  7. Love Hurts
  8. Claudette
  9. Blue Bayou
  10. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
  11. Walk On (Remastered)
  12. Falling
  13. Running Scared
  14. California Blue

Disc 2

  1. Leah
  2. Mean Woman Blues
  3. Crawling Back
  4. Ride Away
  5. Too Soon to Know
  6. She's a Mystery to Me
  7. Blue Angel
  8. It's Over
  9. Ooby Dooby
  10. Heartbreak Radio
  11. Not Alone Anymore
  12. Handle With Care

Album Credits

Customer Reviews