The Ultimate Collection

The Ultimate Collection

by Michael McDonaldMichael McDonald


$9.99 $14.99 Save 33% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 33%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Representing a broad cross-section of a lengthy career that includes a successful stint as a Doobie Brother and a thriving solo career, The Ultimate Collection frames Michael McDonald as more of a romantic balladeer than a soul shouter. As a new member of the Doobies, the St. Louis native wears his influences on his sleeve -- whether it's the electro-funk panache slathered on the self-penned "It Keeps You Runnin'" (an admitted nod to Marvin Gaye) or the gospel-tinged pop of "Taking It to the Streets." As a musical collaborator, the raspy baritone is as compelling trading verses with Patti LaBelle on the quintessential breakup song "On My Own" as he is raising questions of spiritual import with James Ingram on the rhythmic, uplifting "Yah Mo B There." And he's no less effective handling another composer's material, such as Rod Tempterton's infectious "Sweet Freedom," with its hint of Caribbean rhythm, or the Motown chestnut "Ain't No Mountain High Enough." The only thing missing on this otherwise stellar collection is any Steely Dan-era McDonald material, but there's more than enough soul-infused soft rock to make this an Ultimate Collection, indeed.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/09/2005
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227316723
catalogNumber: 73167
Rank: 3996

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael McDonald   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Brian Mann   Synthesizer
Siedah Garrett   Background Vocals
James Ingram   Synthesizer,Vocals
Patti LaBelle   Vocals
Kenny Loggins   Background Vocals
Robben Ford   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Bruce Fowler   Trombone
Quincy Jones   Background Vocals,Voices
David Lasley   Background Vocals
Chet McCracken   Drums,Marimbas,Vibes
Burt Bacharach   Piano
David Foster   Synthesizer
Cornelius Bumpus   Saxophone,Vocals
Nicolette Larson   Vocals
Patrick Simmons   Guitar,Vocals
Sweet Pea Atkinson   Background Vocals
Amy Holland   Background Vocals
Warren Haynes   Guitar,Soloist
Jeff Baxter   Guitar
Benmont Tench   Hammond Organ
Carla Benson   Background Vocals
Evette Benton   Background Vocals
Michael Boddicker   Synthesizer
Rev. Dave Boruff   Flute,Saxophone
Jeff Bova   Hammond Organ,Clavinet,Synthesizer Bass
Harry Bowens   Background Vocals
Jesse Butler   Organ
Rosemary Butler   Vocals
Bernie Chiaravalle   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Soloist,Coral Sitar
Wells Christy   Synclavier
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Mark Douthit   Saxophone
Nathan East   Bass
Brandon Fields   Alto Saxophone
Chuck Findley   Trumpet
David Frank   Synthesizer Horn
Steve Gadd   Drums
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Marc Harris   Hammond Organ
Rev. Patrick Henderson   Keyboards
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Dann Huff   Guitar
Barbara Ingram   Background Vocals
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Clydene Jackson   Background Vocals
Louis Johnson   Bass
Manu Katché   Drums
Keith Knudsen   Drums,Vocals
Bobby LaKind   Bongos,Conga,Vocals
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Billy Livesay   Hammond Organ
Steve Lukather   Guitar
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Arnold McCutler   Background Vocals
Maureen McDonald   Background Vocals
John McFee   Guitar,Vocals
Doug Moffet   Saxophone
Wendy Moten   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jenni Muldaur   Background Vocals
David Pack   Guitar
Pino Palladino   Bass
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Anthony Patler   Keyboards
Bill Payne   Synthesizer
George Perilli   Drums
Greg Phillinganes   Keyboards,Clavinet,fender rhodes,DX-7
Tiran Porter   Bass,Vocals
Tom Roady   Percussion
Julia Tillman Waters   Background Vocals
Danny Sembello   Keyboards
Tommy Sims   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Clavinet,fender rhodes
Denis Solee   Saxophone
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
Tony Swain   fender rhodes
Rod Temperton   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Ted Templeman   Percussion,Maracas,Tambourine,cowbell
Carlos Vega   Drums
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Willie Weeks   Bass
Albert Wing   Tenor Saxophone
Randy Jacobs   Rhythm Guitar
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Tim Akers   Tom-Tom,Background Vocals,Soloist
John Hartman   Percussion,Drums
Dan Needham   Drums
Lee Thornberg   Trumpet
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Gale Mayes-West   Background Vocals
Tammy Taylor   Background Vocals
David E. Williams   Guitar
Chris Rodriguez   Electric Guitar
John "4 Daddman" Robinson   Drums
Lisa Young   Background Vocals
Larry E. Williams   Synthesizer,Horn,Keyboards
Cynthia Edwards   Background Vocals
Peter Wolf   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

James Ingram   Composer
Kenny Loggins   Composer
Michael McDonald   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Carly Simon   Composer
Quincy Jones   Composer,Producer
Burt Bacharach   Composer,Producer
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Lester Abrams   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Jimmy Bralower   drum programming
Bernie Chiaravalle   Composer,rhythm arrangement
Simon Climie   Producer,Audio Production
David Frank   Horn Arrangements
Jimmie Haskell   String Arrangements
Rev. Patrick Henderson   Composer
Wendy Moten   Vocal Arrangements
David Paich   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
George Perilli   Composer
Gary Peterson   Discographical Annotation
Paul Riser   String Arrangements
Chuck Sabatino   Composer
Ed Sanford   Composer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Tommy Sims   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Horn Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Mike Stoller   Composer
Bruce Swedien   Producer
Rod Temperton   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Ted Templeman   Producer
Russ Titelman   Producer
Lenny Waronker   Producer
Diane Warren   Composer
Don Was   Producer
Barry Alfonso   Liner Notes
Dick Rudolph   Producer
Grady Walker   Composer
Tim Akers   Horn Arrangements
Jean Krikorian   Art Direction
Steve Woolard   Discographical Annotation
Toby Baker   drum programming
Alan Fletcher   Executive Producer
Larry E. Williams   Horn Arrangements

Customer Reviews